The Spirituality of Wild Flowers

I’ve just got back from spending a week in the Drakensberg mountains, a place which always inspires and moves me with its profound beauty. This time in my walks I took special note of the wild flowers in the area. They taught me something which is extremely difficult for so many of us to accept.

Each flower I looked at seemed so secure in its own expression of its beauty and structure. Diversity offered no threat. What struck me even more was that in some cases they were virtually hidden from sight, yet continued to exhibit their bloom and grace. They didn’t need to be seen to be at their best. Their natural beauty simply flowed from what they were meant to be, where they were, whether seen or unseen – true to themselves and to what they were meant to be, without any praise, or affirmation, or recognition from elsewhere.

In them I saw an identity absolutely at rest and at peace. Can you imagine, for one moment, feeling like that, where all your strivings to be, your performances, your evaluations and desired recognitions suddenly come to a halt, and you are perfectly still and at peace simply communicating the uniqueness that is you.

What joy! What relief! What peace! I suspect the more natural we are, the more real we become.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Identity, Letting go of Ego and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Spirituality of Wild Flowers

  1. Katy says:

    i can remember a few fleeting occasions in my life when I have felt, not joy as such, but absolute contentment and peace. Sadly they do seem to become fewer with age but the “bush” always has the power to make me at peace with myself and life. Its like natures tranquilizer.

    Like

    • Don Scrooby says:

      It does that for me as well, Katy. I think the reason is because nature is at peace with itself. It’s happy to be who it is whether that be a tree, an anthill, a mountain, whatever, and it communicates that peace to us. You think this may be something of why it does that to us? I wonder.

      Like

Leave a Reply

