Men, Women and the birth of a Baby

Men are different from women. Try contesting that and you’ll end up looking very foolish. Why? Because each day a myriad of little happenings affirm this fact over and over again. Just last week we experienced one such happening in our family.

Our daughter-in-law’s sister gave birth to her first child. Having happened in Germany, we were reliant on our son and daughter -in-law for the news. Jane (my wife) asked me to send a mail to John (our son) asking him whether the baby had been born.

Back came the reply: “The baby was born this morning.”  That was it. That was the reply, simple, incisive, unadorned, proudly male. I communicated that to Jane. She said, “So?” I said, “What?” She said, “Boy or girl? “Dunno,” I said.  “How much did the baby weigh? ““John didn’t say,”“Didn’t you ask?” “No, why?”“What’s the baby’s name?” – “I really don’t know,” “Well, why didn’t you ask him?” – by now I was pricked by feelings of guilt, or stupidity; I didn’t know which. “Please send John another mail and ask him about all of that.”

I duly did, setting out very clearly all the questions posed. An hour later the reply came. “Dad, it’s a boy.” That was it – that was the reply. My heart sank, and at this stage I”ll leave it up to your imagination to work out what happened next.

You see, it’s true, men and women are different and I’m not so sure that anything will ever change that. One thing though, and I thought long and hard about this, the feelings I had were of guilt, and rightly so. I could have been far more engaging and sensitive to the whole issue.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Differences between men and women, Male and Female responses, Men and Women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Men, Women and the birth of a Baby

  1. Diane Van Der Merwe says:

    Don how right you are !! Albert would meet someone we havent seen for years and the conversation goes something like this ;” I met so and so today, last time I saw him was 15 years ago” “Great” I say, “Where’s he living now?” “I dont know” “Where’s he working?” “I dont know” “Is he still married to so and so?” “I dont know” “Didn’t you ask?” “No its got nothing to do with me ”
    I wonder why he bothered to tell me about the meeting in the first place !!!!!!
    Men sure are different !!!

    Like

  2. Don Scrooby says:

    You just got to try and understand us – Lol. Love your story about Albert.

    Like

  3. Katy says:

    I just love that story, it is so typical of us all. When I hear about a birth i want to know it all, was it a difficult birth, where was baby born, weight, sex, natural birth or not. i want the whole bang toot. When I report to Barry that so and so has had her baby, he just says oh, thats good, everything alright? What shall we have for supper? Argggghhhhh.

    Like

  4. I’m with Jane and Katy here! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

