A World of Human Faces

I went to the supermarket the other day to buy some tea and a few other things. While walking along the shelves I had one of those moments of “heightened awareness.” Sounds all rather mystical and other-worldly, but I’m sure you know what I mean. It’s when you suddenly come out of auto-pilot mode and just see things differently.

I’m not sure why, but it was the peoples’ faces that caught my attention. There were faces with content written all over them as they obviously enjoyed strolling around and casually eyeing out the things they wanted. Others looked stressed with a kind of an ache in their eyes, wanting to get their shopping over and done with. Then there were the purposeful, their faces set and deliberate, knowing exactly what they wanted and where to get it. No strolling for them, just a straight resolute walk to the shelf and then to the till. I can go on and on, but for one brief moment I entered the world of human faces and what a world that is. It’s art at its best.

What fascinates me about the human face is that it’s so small, yet with an intensity of expression which is boundless. It holds within itself a world of limitless manifestation, announcement and language. Our faces speak, and no matter how hard we may try to silence that speaking, aspects of our personal stories will always wind their way in to the very fabric of our faces.

Imagine being able to read the language of the face? We’d certainly be lot more closer to and compassionate with one another. Surely, to really look in to someone’s face is to actually enter in to their life. No wonder they say that the face reveals the soul.

I’m sure I experienced just something of that in the supermarket. I can’t help thinking whether there was someone else there that day also experiencing a “heightened sense of awareness” and gazing at peoples’ faces.  I wonder what they saw in mine? I’m not going to tell. All I can say is that there was a TV cricket broadcast about to begin, and I love cricket.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Identity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A World of Human Faces

  1. darrelhoff says:

    Don, I thought of this song when reading your blog: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jLHE4P-B2FA

    Like

  2. Jean Esterhuizen says:

    Purposeful walk maybe……….. 🙂

    Like

  3. mike says:

    ..thanks for this post,Don…”body language” is such a fascinating field of study..i’ve always thought it interesting how some individuals,professional poker players for example,will intentionally wear sunglasses to keep others from ‘reading’ their face..

    Like

Leave a Reply

