My Coming Back To Peanut Butter

Watched the movie “Meet Joe Black” for the umpteenth time the other night. The moment he took the spoon crammed with peanut butter and ladled it in to his mouth, I made a mental note – I want some! I hadn’t had it for years.

I’ve now gone back to peanut butter. It’s like connecting with a long lost friend. Ladling it in to my mouth with a spoon, like Joe Black did, is something I can’t do, but a thick spread of it mixed with honey on a slice of bread really gets the juices flowing.

I realized something else about peanut butter, and it has everything to do with it’s looks. In its commonly shaped bottle, with its soft brown easy on the eyes colour,  and a black cat nonchalantly staring at you and inviting you to, “have some, ” it’s probably one of the most  homeliest of sights.

As a child I remember things getting lost in the kitchen, but never the peanut butter. Somehow its place had a sanctity about it. You never put it anywhere else and you never asked, “Where’s the peanut butter?” You just opened the cupboard door and there it was as faithful as the old mine hooter that sounded the end of the day’s work in the late afternoon. A kitchen was just not a kitchen without a bottle of peanut butter.

Only once did we desecrate the hallowed presence of this soft delight. My one sister received a much awaited doll with a diaper, or nappy as we called it. My brother and I went in to the room while she was out and put a spoonful of peanut butter in the doll’s nappy, and watched and waited for her reaction. When she finally opened the diaper and ran to my mom calling, “Mommy, mommy look, my dollie has done a pooh, ” we both collapsed with laughter behind the door.

I must say I’m still a little sorry we blighted the presence of peanut butter in that fashion. But anyway, I’m back to a restored and beautiful relationship with it, and because of its presence and pride of place, our kitchen is now more of a kitchen than ever.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to My Coming Back To Peanut Butter

  1. Mercia says:

    Back to the Peanut Butter. With the immune system of mine being on low, I was told to eat yoghurt. Not my choice as this was my secret weapon to avoid school! One teaspoon was a guarantee for 3 days at home. So doc advised peanut butter which I too had forgotten. Now its my breakfast with a toast and a coffee in the morning! Hungry at work, out comes the provita with a dash of peanut butter on. Its still a great hunger buster.

    Like

  2. Don Scrooby says:

    Thanks Mercia. It’s quite something when a doctor prescribes it. Makes you think doesn’t it? I agree with you – wonderful with toast.

    Like

  3. Peter says:

    Really great. I too am never without peanut butter in the house, and still make peanut butter and leuttice sandswiches and Mom did for my school lunches so many years ago.

    Bless You,

    Peter

    Like

  4. Don says:

    I remember lunches like that as well. Thanks Peter

    Like

  5. Warren says:

    Hi don, you and your brother playing pranks like that really made me chuckle. I can just picture the scenario of two mischievous boys having the delight of planting the ‘bomb’ and sitting and watching 🙂

    Like

  6. Don says:

    Lol. I reckon, Warren, we’ve all got little memories like that tucked away. When we pluck them out and experience them again they fill us with energy and joy – not so? Thanks for your comment.

    Like

  7. Donna says:

    Our house is never without peanut butter, Ethan eats peanut butter and honey everyday for school lunch and every now and again I give him a spoon of it and he loves it!

    Like

  8. Vince says:

    Hi Don,

    Many thanks for the memories, we ALWAYS have peanut butter in our house, yes at times we don’t induldge for a while but when we do the level goes done alarmingly. I am part of four boys so the pranks you got up too brought back soooo many memories.

    Vince

    Like

  9. Don says:

    Now, that’s why he looks so strong, Donna. What’s a house without peanut butter? Keep going. You see what Mercia says about it – even doctors sing its praises.

    Like

  10. Theresa says:

    Love peanut butter!!! Believe me if I say even dogs like peanut butter, My son use to give Hilter our dog peanut butter. He use to crawl with laughter watching poor Hitler slapping away with his tongue trying to get all the peanut butter off his pallet!!! And even birds love peanut butter aswell. I had an African Grey “Roxette” who use to come and sit next to the dogs in the morning waiting for her piece of bread with some peanut butter on, while I made the kids sandwhiches in the mornings. Peanut butter is a legend for sure.

    Like

  11. Don says:

    Theresa, nobody will promote peanut butter like you. It is a legend – you’re right.

    Like

  12. Lyn says:

    Thank you Don for including me on this new blog, and am delighted as enjoy both your and Jane’s blogs(I see hers via Annerie). Likewise we are big peanut butter fans and very often a sandwich with it if often our lunch, sometimes with a dollop of jam. Good luck with this new venture, enjoy yourself

    Like

  13. kimleach says:

    Always loved it, but recently had it on a toasted Bagel – yum!!!! It’s now one of my favorite breakfasts – toasted peanut butter Bagel and coffee! An

    Like

  14. Theo Coggin says:

    It is astonishing the memories things like peanut butter have. I think I shall begin my own Blog on writing inspired by you, Don! It will be about a mustard bottle. But on peanut butter per se, just one anecdote: When I married Ruth she told me I could have almost anything in the kitchen, but NEVER peanut butter (for which she knew I had an affinity). My riposte, based on two children from my first marriage, was, “Darling, when the first child arrives you will change your mind.” “No, never!” was her retort. Then Thomas arrived. The peanut butter never got lost in the kitchen, even to this day… and the kitchen has been warmer and cosier for it.

    Like

  15. Diane Van Der Merwe says:

    I love peanut butter and so does Cassie (our dog) I use it to quieten her down when bathing her, Just a bit of peanut butter on the wall close by, and she licks and licks and we can wash her without any problems. Maybe we can use it to quieten unruly humans…..just feed them peanut butter !!!

    Like

  16. Peter Groenink says:

    A Kit Kat Chunky Peanut butter bar has just been released here in the UK, haven’t found one yet, but looking forward to trying it. Do you have them in SA?

    Like

    • Don Scrooby says:

      Now, Peter, that’s interesting. Sounds great. Haven’t seen anything like it here yet. Will certainly keep my eyes open and let you know when I spot one. Thanks for the info.

      Like

  17. ladyfi says:

    OK – this is just hilarious! I love organic peanut butter with just peanuts and nothing else in it… Not sure I’m going to be able to see peanut butter in the same light again… 😉

    Like

  18. Katy says:

    Growing up in U.K. I dont recall coming across peanut butter. When I was in St.Marys having our first child we were given tinyl little peanut butter sarmies for afternoon tea. Just one sniff as I open a jar and I,m transported back to Springs 1974. At that time peanut butter crunchies were a popular homebake and I still make them regularly – they are low G.I. too What a bonus. Meet Joe Black is one of the few movies I watch over and over again. And its nothing to do with Brad Pitt. Promise!!

    Like

    • Don Scrooby says:

      What a lovely memory Katy. So glad you can still experience it when you open that jar. I just love the movie as well. Again thanks to you guys for helping us to identify that sighting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

