Going Down To The Sea

Recently, a friend of mine reminded me of John Masefield’s wonderful poem “Sea-Fever.” I too suffer from this fever. I just love the opening stanza:

I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by;
And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
And a gray mist on the sea’s face, and a gray dawn breaking.

Virtually everyday I take a walk down to the beach and spend time there. On Saturday morning I was greeted by these scenes of the breaking dawn. The photographs were taken by Jane Scrooby my wife.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Photography, Sea and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Going Down To The Sea

  1. ladyfi says:

    Wonderful sky shots! I do miss being by the sea.

    Like

  2. Don Scrooby says:

    Thanks Fiona. I can understand you missing the sea. If I’m away from it for any length of time I begin to have withdrawal symptoms – a bit like Emily Bronte and her beloved moors.

    Like

  3. darrelhoff says:

    wow don this is excellent. (Hmmm, is this your photography or Janes? hehe)

    Like

  4. darrelhoff says:

    reminds me of this band’s lyrics (Incubus) “I dig my toes into the sand.
    The ocean looks like a thousand diamonds strewn across a blue blanket.
    I lean against the wind, pretend that i am weightless and in this moment i am happy.” (song: wish you were here)

    Like

  5. I love this poem and when I was in exile from Cornwall had it on the wall in my office in Yorkshire. I’m home again now and happy! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

