Love Songs And Commitment

What would we do without love songs? You want to get the romance going in you, just listen to a good love song. But, and I can almost hear you say – O’ he’s going to spoil it all – always follow this little maxim, enjoy and revel in the melody, but be wary of the lyrics. Why? Because nothing can be more unrealistic than the words of a love song. That’s right, nothing.

Love Songs from The Breeze

Love Songs from The Breeze (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Driving along the other day I was embraced by clouds of romance (doesn’t make for safe driving) while listening to a song on the radio. Suddenly, that spoilsport in me, my rational side, reared up in protest, “Hey! Just listen to those words. Pretty obsessive don’t you think..”  They went like this:

In love with you, No one but you, Can’t live without you, I just need to be with you, You are the only one I care for, I’ll give you all you need, You are for me my destiny

Wow! Makes you want to run for cover. Clinging stuff don’t you think? Imagine being someone’s destiny – heavy, heavy burden. Imagine someone not being able to live without you? It would make me do one of those crazy pole marathons. Only I’d sit up there forever, or at least until the person was no longer around. Can any one person really give you all you need?

Of course, it’s just a love song, but say what you like, our concepts of love and commitment are often shaped by songs like these. No wonder when that little word “commitment” announces itself, many duck out the back door.

So, when it comes to love songs and the romance they breath in to us,  lets revel and dream in the melodies, and lets give some slack here, let the words take us places, and when we’ve savoured these places, quickly get out of them, they’re just not real. Is that being unromantic? No! It’s just plain old common sense.

Happy listening and happy romance.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Life, Men and Women, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Love Songs And Commitment

  1. darrelhoff says:

    ya i agree… some lyrics make me cringe big time 🙂

    Like

  2. Don Scrooby says:

    Me too, but they can also make you float, and for a while I think that’s okay.Lol

    Like

  3. Len says:

    Don’t forget, the words in the marriage vows sound rather like a love song too? I’ve been floating ever since.

    Like

    • Don Scrooby says:

      Interesting Len. Would you say those vows are unrealistic? I promise it’s not a trick question. I’ve often thought about that.

      Like

      • Len says:

        Hold on I will ask Jen what she wants me to say. Just joking….I dont think the vows are unrealistic at all, but being human we sometimes we fail.

        Like

  4. ladyfi says:

    Songs capture the essence of a feeling, if not the nitty gritty reality.

    Like

  5. Don Scrooby says:

    Many think they are, Len. Much unnecessary pain and anguish have been experienced because of dutifully holding to them. On the other hand, they’ve also brought a sense of joy and happiness. I suppose in the immortal words of Forest Gump, “Perhaps it’s both.”

    Like

  6. Malou says:

    Lovely post! Love songs are absolute favorites for me, can’t live without them. 😉

    Like

  7. Don Scrooby says:

    I can understand that. It’s marvellous the way we associate songs with memories, places and people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

