The Supermarket As An Art Exhibition

Going to the supermarket to buy groceries can be extremely boring at times. Yesterday I was faced with this task and really didn’t want to go.

Now they say, when faced with something you do over and over again, the best way to deal with the boredom is to change your perspective and give whatever it is you’re doing another angle. So, while putting the groceries in to the trolley, I turned the supermarket in to an art exhibition, whipped out my cell phone and looked for images that would excite and enliven the experience.

And that’s precisely what happened. I had one of the most entertaining grocery shopping experiences I’ve had for a long time.Β Here are some of the images I encountered and shot. Probably quite ordinary to some, but to me a little different.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Food, Photography, Poetic Imagination and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to The Supermarket As An Art Exhibition

  1. What an original idea, Don! It is certainly something I have never thought of, but I may try it out one day too. Thanks for the idea. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. This is a great post, Don. It makes me think of the power of recognising the sacred in everything – which, I guess, is not much different from recognising the art in everything. And this sacred awareness can certainly change a mundane task into something creative and beautiful – as you describe here.

    I’m actually in the process of writing about this at the moment. Do you mind if I tell this story in my book?

    Grace
    John

    Like

    • Don says:

      So good to hear from you John. I like the way you unite art with the sacred. The experience of the sacred has become very wide for me (as I know it has for you) so I really connect with what you say. Please feel free to use it in any way you want. Thanks for popping in.

      Like

      • Thanks Don – I’ll let you know where your story fits into my chapter.

        I like your phrase” “The experience of the sacred has become very wide for me.” It resonates with my experience, as you rightly observed. I find myself thinking more and more that until everything is sacred, nothing is.

        I know there are some who would debate this, and even in my own mind I wrestle with the obvious objections (what about injustice etc.), but I can’t shake this thought, and I’m trying to explore what it means to live this more and more. So, your writing is a helpful part of this journey for me! πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Don says:

        Thanks John. So good to hear from you. Wish you well with your next book – sounds very exciting.

        Like

  3. I love this idea! Fantastic to be able to see something artistic and exciting in what people would considered mundane! Change of perspective indeed! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Adrienne says:

    Love the way the light bounces off those glasses. I really like your idea of looking at things differently. Thank you for the perspective change.

    Like

  5. ladyfi says:

    What a great idea! I’ll have to try this next time I go shopping (my least favourite job)…

    Like

  6. This is a great idea for a photo shoot !! might try it myself.

    Like

  7. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    You’re a gem! This is just wonderful. I loved your pictures, I truly did. I was at the supermarket TODAY and sighhhhhhhhh, doing what I had to, but to come home & read your take on it – this was just great.

    Loved your post! πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. darrelhoff says:

    haha Don this cracked me up πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Diane Van Der Merwe says:

    I can imagine the looks and comments in the supermarket that day..”Who is He ??”…an undercover Consumer Council Agent!!! Packers running ahead of you to make sure the shelves are neat and tidy and everything has a price !!! No, he’s only a CAA….Consumer Arts Agent!!!!

    Like

    • Don says:

      You’re quite right Diane. I did get looks, especially from two guys who were busy packing stuff on the shelves. I’m not sure what they thought. Probably some of the things you’ve mentioned here. Lol. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  10. Pete Grassow says:

    Hey Don: loved the photograph of the glasses. And the invitation to a new perspective.

    Like

  11. lyn Stephenson says:

    I have seen similar expressions of art (and some not as interesting as your pictures) in the Tate modern in London. I remember one strange but facinating piece with bits of cutlery.

    Art, like beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Lyn. You having shared this has also jolted my memory. I’ve also seen similar pieces in the Tate. Thanks for the reminder. I agree it is in the eye of the beholder.

      Like

  12. lyn Stephenson says:

    …just to add to that thought…art, beauty and the sacred (whatever our interpretation is of that) is in the eye of the beholder, because it’s the ability to see beyond the ordinary and the mundane, even at the supermarket.

    Like

  13. Bushlings says:

    This is so cool! I might actually LIKE shopping if I tried this out!

    Like

  14. I have to try this next time I’m shopping! I love you images and the finding of beautiful things in unexpected places. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

