The Discerning Voice In Each Of Us

I’m convinced there is within us all a discerning “voice.” I don’t want to call it anything, or give it a name. It’s beyond names, beyond our manipulations and impositions and it’s absolutely universal. All people have it and can experience it, and do. The issue is only just how conscious and awake we are to it.

My hope resides in this voice because it reminds me that in the mess of confusion, illusion and falsity there is something at the heart of all things that always remains constant and devoted to whispering truth in to whatever situation arises. It sifts truth from falsehood, brings new perspective, creates order out of chaos, and announces respect, beauty and love.

What I find so captivating about this discerning “voice” is that it has spoken throughout history in to the lives of people who have been in the most extreme of circumstances and their documentation of these experiences have brought light and inspiration to us all. To know that this same voice also graces our inner lives is sheer gift, and therein lies our unity with one another, at a level we have not yet even begun to explore and grasp.

But sadly we’ve lost touch with this “voice.” So far and distant has it become, that we hear only the faint murmurings of its profound and liberating wisdom and we’re the poorer for it. I often wonder if the greatest journey before us is not the gradual restoration of our hearing and our responding to this “voice” at the very heart of all things.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Discernment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Discerning Voice In Each Of Us

  1. “I often wonder if the greatest journey before us is not the gradual restoration of our hearing and our responding to this “voice” at the very heart of all things.”

    And so it is.

    Don

    Thanks Laurie for your comment – appreciate it. Thank you also for leading “blackwatertown” to my blog -see comment below. Always good to hear from you.

    Like

  2. Annerie Witting says:

    It is a voice that I have come to trust! I pray that I will never loose touch with it … thank you Don for being part of helping me to discover that voice over many years!

    Like

    • Don says:

      What a lovely surprise, Annerie. So good to hear from you. Thank you for your words and comment. I know you hear that voice. Your life shows that. Deeply appreciated. Trust you’re well.

      Like

  3. Simon says:

    So timely and so true Don. It seems so often we squint our eyes searching for that shining beacon when if we could just be quiet and still we can listen to the voice inside us guiding us to the right path. Well done sir.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Simon. Really like what you say. I suppose sometimes it is easier than we think. Just too much squinting without that stillness you speak of. Appreciate your visit.

      Like

  4. katy says:

    I really like that phrase “whispering truth”. I,ve had truth whispered to me in some deeply spiritual moments and also every day mundane situations. When a person loses their sight it seems their other senses are sharpened.What a pityit if we have to loose something before before we can be still long enough to hear the whisper

    Like

    • Don says:

      I also like the phrase,Katy. More than often its the way I’ve experienced truth coming to me, quietly and intuitively like. Love your mundane situations – so true. Good to hear from you Katy.

      Like

  5. Greg says:

    It is a great gift of grace. But many modernday scientists deny it, and attach it to religion. They would have that we are machines. How can such brilliant minds arrive at this view?
    We don’t know anything-said Karl Popper, and he is correct.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks for a great comment Greg. You’re right, it always does seem to be attached to religion. I believe this “voice” transcends religion, in fact, even challenges it and enlightens it. I believe too that it is the very voice behind Science and its discoveries. It’s beyond religion, beyond science and everything else, but also in it all, speaking its truth in to everything.

      Like

  6. ladyfi says:

    As always — you’re spot on! We have to re-learn how to listen to our inner voices.

    Like

  7. Fergiemoto says:

    If we open ourselves to really listening to that inner voice (inner advisor), it’s amazing what we can hear. I’ve had those experiences and it’s enlightening, and the voice is something I have come to trust – it’s been quite accurate. That mind/body connection is so powerful.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for your visit and your meaningful comment. Much appreciated. I love the way you say that it has become a voice that you can trust. That’s marvellous. That trust can only come as we relate deeply to it. You’re obviously such a person. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Home is where the heart is « camgal

  9. camgal says:

    I truly enjoyed reading your post. Filled with a passion people can relate to. You were spot on, keep it up :)- Camgal

    Like

  10. My initial reaction to your post was that I just do not have enough time to connect with my ‘inner voice’. Work, Church, ‘Life’ seems to demand so much of me that I seem permanently tired! Not a good place to be. I am also conscious of almost being too familiar with ‘this inner voice’ and relying too much on experience, rather than discerning the voice and direction for the present circumstances. After Bianca’s wedding on the 4th August I shall make time for a personal retreat – long overdue! Your reminder is much appreciated.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks for sharing Jenny. I celebrate you taking a retreat. In your listening, I hope you hear what you don’t want to hear, and respond to it.

      Like

  11. Profoundly touching. Thank you for this important and well-written reminder. You are a great light in the world, and I am grateful. Blessings, Gina

    Like

  12. snowbirdpress says:

    I feel that there is little time for contemplation. There is little patience with anyone who needs to be alone for awhile. Silence is sometimes scarey to people… and yet all of these things are vital to being able to hear our “discerning voice”…. The more we are all in each other’s lives, the less time each of us have to find that solitude that leads us to the place all things are created, and intuited. Good post.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I agree with you. People tend to be uncomfortable with silence. Obsessive relational noise and connection without spaces of silence and reflection can cause a lot relational pain. I really like your insight of creativity coming out of that place of solitude. Thank you for your meaningful comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

