The Choices And Commitments We Make

Making a good choice in life is always a courageous act, whether that be a particular path in life, or someone we choose to be with. Why? I think there’s two reasons. Firstly, because it reduces our span of possibility, a bit like when you take hold of something, you can’t hold on to anything else, unless of course, you let go of what you’re holding on to. I suppose there’s a degree of sacrifice involved. Secondly, because you commit to living more intensely and deeply by investing yourself in that choice, and that takes courage.

I wonder to what extent choice and commitment are the real antidotes against superficial living. Don’t they prevent us from dispersing ourselves too thinly and superficially across the canvasses of life? Don’t they also provide depth and intensity by enabling us to put down roots in to the deep soil of living where real nourishment and wisdom are found? I just can’t imagine carrying a little sapling around in a pot and never planting it somewhere in the depth and expansiveness of the earth.

I’ve been thinking lately about the choices and commitments I’ve made, even the questionable ones, and I must say I’m deeply grateful for them, even for the pain some of them caused me, which by the way, is inevitable when you invest yourself; but I know too the joy and the insight far outweigh the pain. So lets remember and celebrate the choices and commitments we’ve made. They’ve done much in guarding against our skipping superficially through life.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Choices And Commitments We Make

  1. Theo Coggin says:

    Nice thoughts Don! I often wonder about the choices I have made, briefly regret some of them and then I have an “Aha!” moment – I realise how I grew and learnt during that time, even when some of the experiences were pretty miserable. There is a lot one could write on your topic! Thanks again for getting me once more to cogitate.

    Like

  2. Don says:

    Thanks Theo. I identify completely with what you say. I wonder if some of the “pretty miserable experiences” aren’t the ones we learn most from.

    Like

  3. ladyfi says:

    So true. I’ve never thought of it like that. I guess even if we regret some of our choices, at least we MADE them and that is what life is all about. The pain and the joy.

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Good thoughts, Don. I believe you’re right . . . each choice we make precludes other choices we might have made.

    Of course, some choices don’t involve sacrifice . . . for example, choosing to eat chocolate. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. Couldn’t agree more, to much precious time is wasted in that hazy mode when we are too afraid or too lethargic to make a choice. I’m not one for regrets – can’t afford to be since I’ve made some bad decisions in my life but, for better or worse, they have made me a stronger person. Nice, thoughtful post. Thank you.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Isn’t it amazing the way even our bad decisions, or choices are gathered up in to a place of meaning and purpose. Thanks for your sharing Jacquie – much appreciated.

      Like

  6. Sharmishtha says:

    what will our life be without commitments and choices i wonder. a boat without an anchor or boatsman – a derelict.

    Like

  7. This wonderful post helps remind us that every choice brought us to this moment – where we are meant to be. Love your example of carrying a sapling around in a pot! Excellent analogy. Thank you for this terrific reminder!

    Like

  8. I love how you give me food for thought! This post reminded me of a poem I have long loved, by Robert Frost

    The Road Not Taken

    TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveler, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth;

    Then took the other, as just as fair,
    And having perhaps the better claim,
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
    Though as for that the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same,

    And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black.
    Oh, I kept the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and Iβ€”
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

    There is however an air of regret about the road not trodden and I am not one for regrets but for seizing the moment!

    All the best to you and thank you very much for this post. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Just a beautiful, beautiful poem – I think Robert Frost at his best. He is one of my favourite poets. Thank you so much for this. I remember reading a book by a well known American psychiatrist called “The Road Less Travelled.” Lovely book. You probably know it. Again, thank you for the poem – just beautiful.

      Like

      • I don’t know it but will look for it. Thank you πŸ™‚
        I’m glad you liked the poem and that Robert Frost is one of your favourites. Dylan Thomas is my all time favourite but there are plenty of others that I love too!
        I haven’t decided on today’s beautiful things yet but I’m thinking a poem might be in there somewhere! Thanks again πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Don says:

        Lovely idea – dare I say – something by W B Yeats – Listen to me, telling you what to do. I’ve come to know you as a Renaissance woman – great gift.

        Like

Leave a Reply

