The Significant Others In Our Lives

Martin Buber said, “Meeting another was a great thing, but not the greatest thing. The greatest thing any person can do for another is to confirm the deepest thing in him, in her – to take the time and have the discernment to see what’s most deeply there, most fully that person, and then to confirm it by recognizing and encouraging it.”

Buber’s words can get us thinking of those who have come in to our lives without calculating what use we would be to them, or how much they would get out of us, treating us less than what we are.

I don’t know about you, but when I look at my own life there have not been many such people. They are a rare breed and I am profoundly grateful to the few who have looked deeply and confirmed and encouraged what was more fully me. They’ve been beacons on my path and it’s always good to bring them in to awareness, name them and celebrate them.

I hope that somewhere along the line I’ve been such a person to someone, and will always seek to be.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Discernment, Identity, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Significant Others In Our Lives

  1. lyn Stephenson says:

    What a marvelous quote. It articulates beautifully those rare encounters with another in life.

    In my own experience, it is the most beautiful thing when the presence of another takes time to engage at this level, and with discernment, is able to draw forth in us far more than we hoped we were.

    A rare breed indeed…

    Like

    • Don says:

      Agree with you Lyn – it is a beautiful thing, more than we can ever imagine. As you so rightly say, it does take time and investment, perhaps one of the reasons why it is so rare; but also not many people have that capacity and depth to become that for others. Thanks again for your meaningful comment.

      Like

  2. Rosanne says:

    Don – you were most certainly such a person to me – a beacon lighting the way on my path taking the time to discern, encourage and bring to the light, much that was hidden. I celebrate you and the journey and also hope that somewhere along a path belonging to another; I too have been able to be such a person as described by Buber. It is, indeed, a great thing.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Wonderful to hear from you Rosanne. Thank you for your words. What a privilege it was to walk that road with you, and I have no doubt, with your gifts, you have been the kind of person Buber speaks about, to numerous others. Hope you’re keeping well. Really good to hear from you again.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Real-life meeting on 14 August 2012: Confirming the deepest thing in someone | Discussion & Discovery

  4. “…it’s always good to bring them in to awareness, name them and celebrate them.”

    yes, Yes, YES!

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Even without having met you in “real time,” I am certain you have been such a person to many who have crossed your path. Shine on!

    Like

  6. Katy says:

    Both Lyn and yourself were part of bringing to light strengths which might have remained hidden if our paths had not crossed. You are both special to me!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Uncapping My Cyber Highlighter « Spirit Lights The Way

  8. Len says:

    Although I have never met you face to face, you are one of those people to me Don. Thank you for your love for people.

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    So true… it’s hard to find people with this special gift. I was lucky enough to meet a teacher who helped me see my potential.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I’ve noticed that so often it’s a teacher that plays that kind of role in a person’s life. It’s quite amazing how many people remember a teacher. Perhaps its got something to do with the amount of time they spend with us. Thanks Fiona. So enjoyed those images of yours. I love the way that has become such a special place for you.

      Like

  10. I was directed here by Nancy at Spirit Lights the Way…and I’m so glad I came. 🙂 There resides in each person a unique beauty…the key to living a happy and satisfying life is to unveil that beauty in others and celebrate it! It looks like you are doing just that…kudos!

    Like

    • Don says:

      So glad you’ve visited Vivian and I warm to what you say about the beauty found in each person. I’ve found that many of us have a hard time believing that. Thank you for your words of affirmation – they are much appreciated.

      Like

      • You are so welcome, Don. Love shared is love multiplied…the good words we give to others do not deplete us of our supply…there is a bottomless well, if only we can begin. 🙂

        Like

  11. darrelhoff says:

    Don, you have been that person to me along the way. thank you. 🙂

    Like

  12. Although we haven’t ‘known’ each other very long, I think you will have been that kind of person to many. I know I have been to some of the hundreds of pupils who have been through my classes. Some of them are still in touch years later which I find a very beautiful thing.
    Such people are to be treasured and encouraged in this hectic world.
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

