Haiku 3

I was walking along the beach:

Rolling waves

Kissing earth’s lips

Retreating in shy silence

The Kiss

The Retreat

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Nature, Photography, Sea and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Haiku 3

  1. Terry Ann says:

    O Don, I love Haiku’s too – thanks for reminding me about them. You are so right, they are simple and yet profound. Taking something majestic and simply-fying it without loosing the majesty. Going to try my hand at a couple too. Lovely pic’s too. Hope you enjoy a morning walk on the beach everyday… summer is coming. YAY! *smiles*

    Like

    • Don says:

      Great to hear from you Terry. Good to hear you enjoy them too and I love the way you describe them. So glad you’re going to try them for yourself. They really are rewarding and fulfilling. Agree with you. Summer is here YAY! too. I have never experienced such a cold Winter in all the years I’ve lived on the Coast. Quite strange.

      Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    Beautiful thoughts, Don. Nothing like a walk on the beach to inspire us. 😎

    Like

  3. That is a very beautiful Haiku. I love the form, having to choose your words so carefully – and that thought is lovely. I shall think of your poem whenever I watch the waves – which is very often! 🙂

    Like

  4. Emily B says:

    I like that image of the waves being shy, especially in their retreat. Just lovely.

    Like

  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Another haiku! I’ve clicked on two tonight, sort of amazingly because I don’t see that many.

    Haiku is “one thing I can’t do”. I admire it, the brevity and depth. Good job.

    Like

  6. ladyfi says:

    So beautiful. The kiss wouldn’t be as sweet without the retreat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

