Haiku 8

Spring has arrived on the East Coast. I took these shots the other day. I loved the red of the Bottlebrush against the green of the foliage, and the other colours in some kind of an Air plant – not sure what it is.

Nature’s eyes open
A breaking dawn
A new world appears

 

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Haiku 8

  1. Hi Don, Beautiful post. Happy Spring, Ellen

    Like

  2. ladyfi says:

    A beautiful post!

    Like

  3. Annerie Witting says:

    Love it!

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Beautiful post and poem . . . we see a “new world” whenever we OPEN our eyes. 😯

    Like

  5. snowbirdpress says:

    I love the red of the bottlebrush…. It’s new to me and interesting. Some friends of mine have several air plants but I haven’t seen blossoms on them yet.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I call it an air plant because it grows exactly like one. Not fully sure about it, but I love the flower it gives, a kind of a flower within a flower. Nice to know you enjoyed the bottlebrush. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  6. Love these colours! I’ve posted a photo of a similar flower that I found yesterday and hoping someone can tell me what it is 🙂

    Like

  7. lyn Stephenson says:

    Hi Don, there is nothing like nature to inspire the poet. How good it would be if humanity was as naturally inclined to open its eyes to a forever revealing new world.

    We have a similar air plant in our garden and Peter thinks its a ‘Tillandsia’, if it matters….”a rose by any other name…..”

    Like

  8. Don says:

    Lyn, that’s very interesting. Thanks for the name of that flower.It’s always good to know the names. You’re right, nothing like nature to inspire. Thank you for your comment.

    Like

  9. your haiku is a beautiful ode to Spring. We are beginning autumn up here and it too has its beauty and colours. walk in beauty.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Your Autumns are beautiful. I’ve had the privilege of sharing one and it was wonderful. The colours were breathtaking. Thank you for your comment and for following the blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

