Our Senses

For a long time now I’ve tried to nurture and live in an awareness of my senses. It hasn’t always been easy, but I’ve watched my life change in remarkable and sometimes surprising ways. Three things stand out for me.

Firstly, I’ve discovered that our senses are doorways, not only in to the outer world, but also in to our inner world. When our senses are sensitive and open to both these dimensions we come in touch with “Soul,” and here “SouI” simply means for me those deeper levels of life and beauty that exist below the circumferences of life. When you see and experience “Soul,” change is as natural as the seasons.

Secondly, I’ve found that when our senses put us in touch with “Soul” as I’ve described it, hard and stiffened beliefs melt away and hardened outlooks soften. Life begins to flow and changes from being a full stop, to being a comma.

Thirdly, because of all the above, we become far, far more compassionate and understanding in our living. Nothing grows our compassion more than a heightened awareness of our senses.

In the next two weeks or so I’d like to do some posts on our senses. I hope you’ll join me in this little excursion.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Transformation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Our Senses

  1. I’m looking forward to your upcoming posts. Sounds like you’ve connected with wisdom from within through the doorway of the senses. Walk in beauty.

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    Oh, I love this idea for a series . . . I’ll definitely tune in! 😀

    Like

  3. Dear Don, Wonderful and I too look forward to your series.

    Like

  4. I’m so keen to hear more from you on this subject. I can identify with what you have said in this post when I have, far too infrequently, tried to practise increasing awareness. It is a discipline which I need to work much harder at.

    Like

  5. ladyfi says:

    I’m looking forward to your posts – always so meaningful.

    Like

  6. Doreen Aucamp says:

    Thanks Don, Looking forward to your series. Will follow closely! Dxx

    Like

  7. lyn Stephenson says:

    Thanks Don,
    I like your understanding and explanation of ‘soul.’

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Lyn. I must confess that I’ve become tired of those nice neat and dogmatic little descriptions of “soul” that empty the concept of all mystery and enigma.

      Like

  8. Very moving…when we just open ourselves up to the world around us through our senses we “see” so much more than we ever knew existed. Great post, Don. I’m looking forward to your senses series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

