Our Senses – Sight and Nature

I’ve always had a strange feeling that nature in all her diversity wants to be truly seen by human eyes. It’s a bit like us. Every one of us wants and needs to be seen, and I’m not talking about that bright neon egotistical kind of need, but one that expresses our right to be here, and therefore, our right to be seen and taken seriously.

For too long we have lived under the illusion that we somehow exist separately from nature seeing her as a kind of inanimate and lifeless machine which we can control, manipulate and dissect in whatever way we wish.

I just cannot see her in that way. I see myself intricately connected to her. What I do to her I do to myself. When I gaze in to her eyes, in whatever way that may entail, I see life, vast pools of energetic life and I cannot help but have my compassion and sense of beauty awakened by what I see.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I saw the flowers in the image above and below at a Garden and Homes Show some time ago. As I looked at them I knew deep within myself that in their very nature was the disposition to be seen. I’m sure if you really looked at them you’d see the same. They wanted to be seen and affirmed for what they were. The same goes for all of nature.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me give John O’ Donohue the last word. “In a wonderful way, the eye as mother of distance makes us wonder at the mystery and otherness of everything outside us. In this sense, the eye is also the mother of intimacy, bringing everything close to us.”

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Our Senses – Sight and Nature

  1. Beautiful. Blessings, Ellen

    Like

  2. Kathy Marsden says:

    Just loved this! Jesus would say this. He connected to nature in the most profound way – layers and layers of meaning in ” Look at the birds…Consider the lillies..” Thanks for sharing, Don.Blessings! Kathy M

    Like

  3. ladyfi says:

    So very true – everything bad we do to nature, we do to ourselves.

    Lovely shots.

    Like

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    Don, you have colour in walk.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Hudson – you’re very kind. Been missing your posts. Haven’t received any for quite a while now. Just listened to Puff the Magic Dragon on your site. Transported back to a wonderful time. Thanks for the song.

      Like

  5. Heather says:

    Hi Don, just had the privilege of going to the flowers on the West coast.We were blown away by God’s creation and so enjoyed finding beautiful and tiny flowers often hidden under ohers, and were in awe of the fact tnat God creates such perfection that, very often is never even noticed.
    We were all renewed by the experience!!
    Blessings Heather D

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hi Heather. Wonderful to hear from you. Hope you and the family are well. What a time you must have had. I can just imagine the effect on you all. That’s the thing, nature blooms even when it is not noticed. It’s so without ego. I celebrate your experience of renewal. Keep well.

      Like

  6. nrhatch says:

    Nature nurtures.
    Nature rocks.
    Nature is smart . . .

    For a fascinating look into the innate intelligent of water at the molecular level (both standing alone and in plants, animals, and us!), check out Hidden Messages in Water by Masuro Emoto.

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/09/23/hidden-messages-in-water/

    Great post, Don.

    Like

  7. Don, I am with you all the way on this. I feel ever closer to the Earth and to Nature as time passes, and know that I am not separate from them, but simply a small part of the life of this planet.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I think that’s precisely it Linda. As human beings we’ve become so arrogant and dismissive of nature. We are just a small part and the sooner we realize this the better. Thanks, Linda.

      Like

  8. Terry Ann says:

    If only we could all be as simple and yet as great as nature! perhaps we were one day and we’ve lost our way – and are longing to return. I know when I see even the smallest even of perfection in nature I feel blessed to have witnessed it. Thank you Don, for making me more aware again.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I’m also convinced that we have lost our way in our relationship to nature, Terry. What’s so heartening is that we are slowly beginning to find our way back. Lets hope this movement gains momentum. Good to hear from you Terry.

      Like

  9. darrelhoff says:

    I agree. I want to be seen. 🙂
    I think of lyrics when I see these pics, by a band called: Lifehouse
    “How can I stand here and not be moved by you?”

    Like

  10. christopher says:

    Hmmm…and besides being seen…what is nature trying to say….

    Like

  11. I want to walk gently on the earth and feel her vibrations up through the soles of my feet. Today as I was picking squash in the garden, about 8 feet from me was a young red-necked pheasant. I was so blessed to have him nearby and when he flew off I spoke to him. Such a sense of connection to all that breathes and lives, whether plant, two legged creature, four legged or winged speaks to me of our oneness and of the healing that comes to us when we realize we are all part of the sacred whole.

    Like

    • Don says:

      That sense of connection you speak of is such a beautiful thing. I don’t think anything is such a conveyor of life and its energy like that connection. You’re obviously a person who connects deeply with all of life and I admire you immensely for that. Thanks for sharing that moment. What more do we want?

      Like

  12. Christine says:

    Hi Don! I’m actually really intrigued by the first sentence….the need for nature to be seen by human eyes. A friend and I often debate the “If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?” question – I usually argue on the side of scientific theories about observation but his argument is that surely something (non-human) witnessed it and that is enough. I suspect he is right & that my view is quite anthropocentric! Some of the process theology that I have managed to cobble together gives me the impression that life is not set to exist solely for people. In fact I suspect nature might often do a whole lot better if we weren’t around and would continue to be, without us. Yet for some reason, in all of nature, we seem to have the best ability (that we know of) to even debate these issues. Hmmm…much for me to ponder – thanks as always for the thought-provoker!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Christine, I think what you are saying is very interesting. I would say it is both. Nature can and does get along without us, but by virtue of our connection I would imagine there’s a mutual seeing which is at the heart of that connection. Having said that, I’m afraid we as humans certainly don’t like the idea of something getting along without us. Our arrogance doesn’t allow us to think like that. Sorry I took so long to respond, but I was on my way to London. Thanks for your very thoughtful comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

