Haiku 10

Every now and again in the Drakensberg area, the clouds, in an act of humility, descend and gather around the foot of the mountains. I wanted to catch this moment and was able to do so on this particular day.

Descending clouds
No longer looking down
Mists of humility.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Haiku 10

  1. Theo Coggin says:

    These are outstanding shots, Don! Most moving and descriptive of the area. It’s time I went back there again for a while.

    Like

  2. Kim Leach says:

    How utterly beautiful. These photos resonate with my soul this morning as I have just read Psalm 23 and am feeling ‘restored’ and at peace. These photo’s ooze with peace and tranquility. Thank you Don, for filling our lives with written and visual beauty.

    Like

  3. Beautiful photographs. It’s lovely to see the mountains again and to have that view bring back so many lovely memories of our first visit to South Africa. I love your haiku too. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    Thanks for taking me there. Mists of humility -I wonder though if that happen before or after the tears.

    Like

  5. Katy says:

    Majestic or clothed in humility, the mountains are always stunningly beautiful. We are so lucky to have them on our doorstep so to speak. Thankyou for sharing your words and photos. Don

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Katy. As I was saying to Greg, sorry I took so long to respond, but I was on my way to London. Wonderful to be here again with our boys.

      Like

  6. nrhatch says:

    Beautiful, Don. Brilliant capture of the mountains wreathed in a feather boa. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  7. Greg says:

    Looks like The Nest area? Cathkin Peak? No matter tho’……….majestic indeed!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Haiku | Cresy Caradonna's Blog

  9. Greg says:

    Have a ball! Fair weather, eat, drink and be merry,and safe travels.

    Like

  10. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Fantastic. Home of the Gods, fore’re encircled with mortally impenetrable cloud… Mount Olympus (or how I’ve envisioned it, at least).

    Like

  11. How utterly stunning! Beautiful photos, Don. And a beautiful place.

    Like

  12. pageariel says:

    This is so beautiful. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

