London – Banqueting House – the vaulted under-croft

I’ve just arrived in London. I feel I’d like to use this time to post words and images of this beautiful and fascinating city, not so much of the well known landmarks, but rather of places and things that are perhaps a little more obscure. Hope you’ll join me for the next couple of weeks.

Today I took this shot of the vaulted under-croft of the Banqueting House which is part of the historical royal palace at Whitehall. Just loved being there and it kind of reminded me of the journey in to the inner self. I couldn’t help but wonder what was behind that door at the end.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to London – Banqueting House – the vaulted under-croft

  1. Beautiful photos. Enjoy your time in London.

    Like

  2. Kathy Marsden says:

    Beautiful thought that the journey in is filled with light! Thank you for that, Don. Stay safe.

    Like

  3. Hudson Howl says:

    Poor poor you. Said with not a tone of jealousy. Did I sound convincing?

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Have a FAB time . . . loved these photos.

    Like

  5. Geraldien Coetzee says:

    Lovely photos, I sure will be following your trip. You and Jane must have a wonderful time with your children. Lots of love.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Geraldien. Strength to you all.

      Like

      • lyn Stephenson says:

        Lovely image. I like your analogy of the inner journey. The candles remind me that looking inward is always a gentle, soft looking, there’s nothing harsh about candlelight. And, very important, a long the journey there is always a place to rest! (don’t know if you noticed the rest room sign!)

        Enjoy every minute Don…

        Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Lyn. Love your reflections on it. You were not supposed to see that restroom sign; but the way you’ve interpreted it makes me glad now that it’s there. Love your thought about “no harshness.” I certainly will enjoy every moment. Again, thanks Lyn.

      Like

  6. Lovely place, Don! So many ‘layers’ to discover!

    Like

  7. Terry Ann says:

    my word are those really candles? Do they light them everyday – who cleans up? so fascinating all this history – beautiful architecture – clean and shiney surfaces – I have a feeling whoever cleans that floor is proud of their work!! I’m looking forward to your posts Don! Love T

    Like

    • Don says:

      Not real candles Terry – they’re little lights, but really beautiful. The floor does shine – Cobra polish Lol. Wonderfully mystical. As I was saying to another friend, I found myself just standing there taking in the silence and atmosphere after having taken the pics. Wonderful place. Upstairs was a bit gaudy though. I was far more at home in the under-croft.

      Like

  8. ladyfi says:

    Wow – fabulous composition and lighting in these shots!

    Like

  9. cecilia says:

    I lived in London for over four years before I came to live in my little house on the prairie.. OH how I miss London sometimes, give her my love.. fantastic shots.. c

    Like

    • Don says:

      I’ll certainly do that for you. I too have a great love for her and somehow I become more alive as I walk through her streets. Beautiful city. Must be quite a change from London to prairie. Thanks for dropping by. Appreciate your visit.

      Like

      • cecilia says:

        I have always loved the smell of london, I think it is all the old stone.. have a lovely time, i shall pop in again and see what you have been seeing.. c

        Like

    • Don says:

      I think I know what you mean about London’s smell and I’ll certainly have a good time. Thank you.

      Like

  10. Thanks for some other excellent post. Where else could anyone get
    that type of information in such a perfect
    manner of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am at the
    search for such info.

    Like

  11. Kirby says:

    Only աіshed to ϲeck in with you as the last few bloogposts haven’t been as stimulating aѕ your pdevious
    ones ԝhicҺ were exemplary. I hope everythinց’ѕ ok and
    that you keep oon the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

