London – Regent’s Park

Yesterday we visited Regent’s park, a favourite haunt of ours. On the dissolution of the monasteries (1536-40), Henry VIII acquired the Manor of Tyburn and created a hunting ground, Marylebone Park, which covered almost the same area as the 400 acres which comprise The Regent’s Park today.

Although blazing with colour during Summer, the approaching Winter paints the Park with a different kind of beauty. I’ve always admired the English closeness to nature which I’m convinced is something the nature poets have given them. These poets have certainly done that for me, especially William Wordsworth.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to London – Regent’s Park

  1. Theo Coggin says:

    I love the English flora! Lovely pics Don. Hope you are enjoying yourselves immensely.

    Like

  2. Hi Don, Beautiful. My mother quoted from Wordsworth. Thank you, Ellen

    Like

  3. Hudson Howl says:

    Poor poor poor you. Oh how your cheeks must hurt from the constant smiling. How’z that, did I sound convincing ‘not’ jealous’ that time?

    Like

  4. The autumns colours creeping in seem to add a certain richness. Really lovely.

    Like

  5. Katy says:

    There is so many memories for me in your pictures of English parks. I love the wildness and the unkemptness of the African bush, but I appreciate the orderliness and the” a place for everything and everything in its place” in those parks. There must be thousands of parks dotted all over the U.K., and in times past it was one of the only places young lovers could meet with each other. (Just a piece of useless information!!)

    Like

    • Don says:

      Sounds wonderfully romantic, Katy, and I can quite imagine it. Lovely backdrop for a bit of romance. I love the comparison you make between the Wild African bush and the ordered English park. Both are so necessary in our psyche. I just wish we had beautiful parks like this at home. They really do feed the soul.

      Like

  6. Kathy Marsden says:

    You have created an expectancy in me, Don! I feel like I’m on the trip and I was really excited about reading your post. I’ve been rewarded. Such beautiful pics, great detail, and such a generous number. Thank you for sharing. It’s raining and miserable on the KZN coast and the weekend looks much the same. Look forward to the next log of your journey. Stay safe!
    Kathy

    Like

    • Don says:

      Kathy, you inspire me. It’s so good to have you on the trip with us. Thank you for joining us. I’ve never known KZN to have so much rain. It’s quite extraordinary.

      Like

  7. nrhatch says:

    Stellar shots, Don! Makes me want to jump right onto the paths of the park with you!

    Like

  8. Literature and Culture says:

    I have nominated your blog for One Lovely Blog Award. If you want to accept the award check my blog http://literatureandculture.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/539/

    Like

    • Don says:

      Congratulations on your award. You have a wonderful blog and you deserve that award in every way. I celebrate that with you. Thank you also for your nomination. Appreciate it.

      Like

  9. Heather says:

    One could spend days/weeks just drinking in the beauty! But thanks for the beautiful photos so we can all enjoy it to an extent. Don. Yes it would be wonderful to have more parks like Regents nearby Often just need to make time to notice beauty wherever we are.

    Like

  10. Amazing photos Don! Thank you for sharing, and bringing me along on your trip πŸ™‚ because I feel like I’m there. Also I adore the works of Wordsworth. I can imagine that he would come to mind in visiting Regent’s Park. Cheers, Gina

    Like

  11. Don says:

    Thanks Gina. You’re so welcome on the trip. Glad you enjoy Wordsworth too. I had the wonderful treat of visiting Dove’s Cottage where he lived in the Lake District. Also went to some of the places where he wrote some of his most popular poems. It was quite something. Will never forget the experience.

    Like

  12. darrelhoff says:

    This is beautiful. Are you in the UK now then? I am kinda jealous. πŸ™‚ is that allowed? haha. Enjoy the mystery and wonder of England πŸ™‚ enjoy time with your boys too πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. Naomikko says:

    oh so beautiful…

    Like

Leave a Reply

