London – A Night-walk in her Streets

London is such a fine expression of the British mind’s approach to functionality and beauty. Harmony between these two dimensions is reflected every where you look. It’s a beautiful city, but also an extremely practical one in the way it deals with life.

You cannot experience London without being touched by its sheer beauty and practicality. This is even more pronounced at night. A night-walk in her streets the other evening just re-affirmed all this for me. Rarely have I experienced such energy and beauty in a city.

 

 

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Beauty, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to London – A Night-walk in her Streets

  1. Theresa says:

    Absolutley beautiful! Wow

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    Fantastic shots, Don! Loved #1, #3, and #4 the best! Stellar . . . 5 stars.

    Like

  3. Lovely photos, Don. Captured it so well.

    Like

  4. Katy says:

    There,s just something about being wrapped up, tramping the streets, after dark, Christmas lights on, mingling in the crowds that is so uniquely British. You have captured it so nicely Don. It was exciting!!!

    Like

  5. ladyfi says:

    Wow – your night shots are magnificent!

    Like

  6. darrelhoff says:

    Seriously Don, what awesome photos and the journey that we take with you… is amazing. its enchanting 🙂 where do your sons stay? In London itself?

    Like

  7. Terry Ann says:

    so stunningly captured Don. thank you – I look forward to your posts…. keep them coming. You have a great eye, I think because you are so in touch with your surroundings no matter what the situation. Its so much more than just a picture. I’ve never been to London and never wanted to go until now, thanks for that.

    Like

    • Don says:

      You’re too kind Terry. I’m so glad that the images have given you a taste for London. You must go. I promise you, you’ll fall in love with this city. I’ve been to some of the big cities in the world, but let me say that London takes the prize. I can just hear people say, No! No! you must go to… I suppose it is a matter of taste. Thanks again for your comment Terry.

      Like

  8. sethsnap says:

    Jealous. I wish I was with you there in London to walk and see the beautiful colors. Your pictures are wonderful.

    Like

  9. You have created a beautiful picture of London with these photos – it is, as someone else says, quite magical. I’m really glad you are enjoying your stay so much. One of our daughters lives in London so we get to appreciate the city as visitors too and it is very exciting! 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for your kind words. It really is quite magical as you say. So glad you get to visit the city as well, probably far more often than me. It’s such a gift to have children living there, isn’t it?

      Like

  10. wisejourney says:

    what life affirming pictures on a bitterly cold London night

    Like

  11. wisejourney says:

    I have come back to you pictures again and I love the…also warming on the freezing London morn !

    Like

Leave a Reply

