London – My Final evening in the City

I’m going to miss this city immensely. I always do. Another year before I see her again. Spent my final afternoon and evening in London. Here are the last few images I took. Tonight we fly home and it’s going to be hard saying goodbye.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to London – My Final evening in the City

  1. nrhatch says:

    Beautiful shots . . . glad you enjoyed your visit.

    Like

  2. Don says:

    Thanks Nancy – it was wonderful and thank you for following – really appreciated your comments.

    Like

  3. Hudson Howl says:

    Sorry, but I forbid it, you must stay in London. I don’t think you have shown everything there is there. Sure others could take your place but none could present it in same light. Oh all right, if you must leave, my selfishness shouldn’t hinder you. So, you coming straight home or stopping off in Paris or Rome or Marrakesh? (sorry wishful thoughts on my part)….All joking aside. Have enjoyed the show, stayed quiet for last few but always stared at them silently with drool running down one corner of the mouth. You were a dedicated Visitant and your photos show how much you were enjoying the trip.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Hudson. You have a way with words which is always entertaining and delightful. I wish I could’ve stopped over in Paris or Marrakesh. Well I’m home – no more drooling for you and yes I so loved the trip – I always do. It’s kind of have become a second home for me.

      Like

      • Hudson Howl says:

        A second home, be it physical or in mind an spirit is a plus. Am not one of those who is content with staying on home turf, like yourself. Most us have a roaming nature. Even in countries where the inhabitants are restricted to stay within, they do so by reading. That is what was striking about your photographs. England is country rich with intellect and knowledge. Evident in the buildings, the art, the gardens. It is a book with untold volumes. On my last trip to Cuba, I was in a small bus heading out on to another part of island. All the while, when he wasn’t talking, the guide read from an old well worn book -Tennyson.

        Like

    • Don says:

      The roaming in my nature is strong so I warm to what you say. England is wonderfully rich in intellect and knowledge.That’s precisely why I enjoy it so much. I love the way you describe it as “a book with untold volumes.” I’m just strangely energized and inspired whenever I’m there. Ah! Tennyson – what a poet! Thanks Hudson. Appreciate your comments.

      Like

  4. Kathy Marsden says:

    Welcome home! At least today is bright with sunshine on the KZN coast. Thank you for having me along. Didn’t always let you know I was there but so enjoyed your sharing. Wonderful experience that helped me escape for a bit. I was in the UK for Christmas 2011, not London, but in quiet Devon, Torquay. Wish I was there again this year.Blessings! Kathy.

    Like

  5. ladyfi says:

    That second pictures is stunning!

    Where do you live if not in the UK? (I’m an expat Brit in Sweden.)

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Fiona. Do you enjoy living in Sweden? Have heard so many good things about the country. I actually live in South Africa, but my two sons are now British. So home is South Africa, but I feel deeply rooted in England as well.

      Like

      • ladyfi says:

        Yes, Sweden is great, especially if you have kids. My two are adopted from South Africa – they come from Capetown and Joburg. Where do you live?

        Like

  6. Don says:

    That’s so interesting. I remembering seeing them in one of your posts and wondered whether they came from South Africa. I admire you deeply for that. I live about 30 km South of Durban in a little village called Warner Beach, right on the coastline.

    Because it’s very tropical here we don’t really experience the seasons in any form of intensity. While in England we experienced Autumn for the first time in a long long time. It was beautiful. So enjoyed it. I can imagine there being deeply defined seasons in Sweden.

    Like

  7. These photos are postcard perfect Don. Looks like you had lovely, clear (no doubt, crisp) weather on your last day. It has been a good number of years since I was last in London and it holds some of my most favourite memories 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Jacquie. Kind of you to say that. Yes, the weather was crisp and cold, but there’s something I enjoy about it. I think it’s the act of breathing in that kind of air – not sure, need to think about that.

      I can imagine you having memories of London. It’s just that kind of place. Always leaves a deep impression. You have to go back some time. Create more memories.

      Like

  8. alicia says:

    Thank you very much for allowing me to be a part of your trip. You have given me so much pleasure and insights. I almost feel sad that your trip has ended.

    Like

  9. darrelhoff says:

    Hope you had a safe flight 🙂 i feel your sadness.

    Like

  10. Although I go to London frequently as our daughter and family are there, I have so enjoyed seeing it all through your eyes and your glorious photographs. That one of the Millenium Bridge at night is gorgeous.
    I hope it feels good to be home. We love traveling but always like coming home too. We’ve loved our three trips to your country too, it also is very beautiful and has a magical draw for me. My dad was there in the war and fell in love with the area around the Drakensburg Mountains and what was Bechuanalandn now Botswana.
    All the best to you 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you. It does feel good to be home although I have to say that I miss England. Wonderful to hear about your Dad and the Drakensberg area. Every year a group of us travel to Cathkin Peak in the Drakensberg – not too far from us, about 200km. We spend about 10 days there and have a wonderful time. The place is magical and majestic and the sunsets are something to behold. Did your Dad go up North and fight in the desert?

      Like

Leave a Reply

