The Stillness of a Church Garden

Absolute stillness permeated this scene. Nobody was there, even the leaves on the trees were still. After taking the image I went and sat on the bench and just enjoyed the quietness. A rustling sound caught my ear and suddenly, as if appearing from nowhere, I saw a squirrel looking up at me. A thought came: “Stillness always gives birth to squirrels of insight.” Perhaps that’s why we learn so much in the midst of stillness. It offers us a truer perception of things and ourselves.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Stillness of a Church Garden

  1. I always find stillness in a city particularly special. Not so keen on the squirrels though! Great find.

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    Stillness allows the whisper of spirit to surface . . . with nuggets of wisdom that we can squirrel away stormy days. 😀

    Like

  3. simply beautiful Don! loving this post, for all that it inspires …

    Like

  4. Katy says:

    I love the contrast of the colours Don. S0000 typical of an English Autumn soon to be winter. Looking at the light I would guess it to be about 3.pm. I don,t want to BE back in England but I,ve enjoyed visiting it with you. Very satisfying. See you Sunday.

    Like

  5. darrelhoff says:

    Thank you Don. You are inspiring! Seriously. words carry weight… thats true… and thus your blogs of pictures and words carry a substanial weight and truth 🙂

    Like

  6. ladyfi says:

    The squirrels of insight – love it! And what a beautiful shot.

    Like

  7. Heather says:

    Don, your blog has been an inspiration for me. Almost as good as being there.
    I’m sure we’re all different in various ways because of it.
    Bless you as you return home.

    Like

  8. wisejourney says:

    “Sit quietly and listen and the answers will be revealed.” A mantra of mine which I may or may not have shared.
    I like the combination of words and pictures. I usually start with pictures in my head and then create words and maybe find a pictures to join them. I am inspired today to go out and find ‘a picture’ in the world first. Thank you

    Like

  9. Don says:

    I warm to your mantra. It’s something that is also a reality for me.In quietness answers are revealed, sometimes in the most remarkable way. Such a meaningful comment. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

