We Greet You

A wild and mysterious elegance,

Shaped with huge patience

In depths invisible,

Beyond our knowing;

We greet you.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to We Greet You

  1. Dear Don, Wonderful beautiful post! Blessings, Ellen

    Like

  2. darrelhoff says:

    welcome back 🙂

    Like

  3. Theresa says:

    So beautiful! Reminds me of your aunty Francis. Whenever I see an orchid I always think of her.

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Gorgeous. Gorgeous. Gorgeous. Wonderful post, Don.

    Like

  5. Kathy Marsden says:

    Sensitively expressed. Not easy to put words around the Mystery. I recently signed up for daily emails from CAC with messages from Richard Rohr. This is what he writes today:
    “The mystical gaze happens whever, by some wondrous ‘coincidence’, our heart space, our mind space, and our body awareness are all simultaneously open and nonresistant. I like to call it ‘presence’.” (The Naked Now)
    All of you, Don, present, and able to know the Real Presence. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Beautiful words Kathy. Such a profound writer and mystic. One of my favourites. I honestly believe that it will only be through the growth of this mystical gaze in people that we will truly and congruently reconnect with nature. Too often the motives that drive environmental movements have nothing to do do with this gaze, thus making them suspect. Great comment Kathy.

      Like

  6. The second picture made me think of an alien who is about to say ‘take me to your leader’. On a serious note, thank you for sharing these beautiful photos with us, and of course, the lovely words.

    Like

  7. Literature and Culture says:

    Dear friend, I’ve nominated your blog for Family Of Bloggers Award http://literatureandculture.wordpress.com/2012/11/21/family-of-bloggers-award/ Love, Maarit-Johanna

    Like

  8. Dainty flowers and wonderful prose!

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    So stunning that words fail me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

