Beauty – Not Prescriptive or Demanding

For me, Beauty, and I don’t mean glamour as defined by the fashion world or the media or Hollywood etc., lies at the heart of all things, even that which is flawed.

Beauty holds within itself truth and goodness, but it refuses to be dogmatic and prescriptive making all sorts of demands on life. Beauty just is, and I know that when I experience it, I’m  naturally animated and transformed. That’s why I believe in it so strongly. This sunset did precisely that for me.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Beauty – Not Prescriptive or Demanding

  1. Paul says:

    I have to agree with you. We get some amazing sunsets out here in the southwest and every one is transformative in nature, though fleeting. Imagine if they only happened once a year? People would get out their lawn chairs and wait in anticipation for the sun to go down. As it is, I’m afraid most people ignore a true miracle of nature. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Great insight Paul. Just imagine the change in attitude towards a sunset if we only saw it once year. I suppose that goes for many other things. Familiarity does dull our senses.Appreciate your comment.

      Like

  2. So true and yet how often do we not even notice the beauty around us because life is so busy buzzing inside our heads. Just this morning driving to work I happened to notice a jacaranda tree that is still all bright and purple and beaiutiful and yellow blossoms in a bed below, and by appreciating it, I could feel myself breathe again.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Wonderful to feel the impact of beauty on our souls. As you say, Jacquie, it causes you to breath again. Your sharing made me think of a time how,while living in Pretoria, I used to look forward to the blossoming of the Jacaranda trees. Pretoria turned purple and when you looked down on the city from the Union buildings, it was just a blanket of purple. Thanks for invoking the memory.

      Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    Gorgeous shot and reflections, Don. Quite a spectacular sunset.

    Like

  4. Beauty blesses our souls and fills our heart with wonder. The breathtaking beauty of a sunset, the shy beauty of a little one’s smile, the explosive beauty of apple trees in bloom – all bathe us in silence and awe. Blessings to you.

    Like

  5. ladyfi says:

    So gorgeous. Sights like these lift up my spirits and speak to me without words.

    Like

  6. Kathy Snay says:

    Don, I love how you tie the photo to the impact it has on your life. Beauty is transformative. Great blog entry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

