Preserving Difference

Even the Trees stand apart in their growth and their difference

I was doing a bit of reflection on friendship yesterday, and as I pondered on it, I felt so grateful for those friendships in my life that have never put pressure on me to conform.

Friendship that refuses to recognise and preserve difference isn’t friendship at all. We may pretend it is, but in the end it has very little to do with friendship.

That which grows together in relationship always needs space to express difference. The poet Kahlil Gibran said: “But let there be spaces in your togetherness, let the winds of the heavens dance between you.”  I think it’s that space between, in which the winds of the heavens dance, that actually causes our friendships to dance; and like the trees in the image above, it also allows the light of difference to shine through.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Poetry, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Preserving Difference

  1. darrelhoff says:

    very cool. and true 🙂

    Like

  2. Annerie Witting says:

    Let there be spaces in your togetherness ….. very powerful and profound words.

    Like

  3. Don says:

    You’re right, they are, Annerie, but not always easy to live. Again, Good to hear from you.

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Good observations and great quote. I feel claustrophobic without enough space in my togetherness.

    Like

  5. So true and well said.

    Like

  6. Healthy A-Z says:

    This is beautifully stated and I am so enjoying your photography on your blog as well. I am visiting as a result of Melissa’s (Live Love Be Green) nomination of your blog for the Liebster Award. Congratulations!!

    Like

  7. ladyfi says:

    So true. Friendships like these are rare and to be cherished.

    Like

  8. What a beautiful quotation. Friendships that allow you to be yourself are the most precious and the space between a place of freedom. The friend whose death inspired my blog was this kind of friend and I miss her….
    Thank you very much for this post which brought me such tender memories 🙂

    Like

  9. Don says:

    I’m so glad it did that for you. Must have been a wonderful friend. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  10. Don, thank you for stopping and liking a recent post. This post along with Kahlil Gibran lines really resonated with me. I was thinking this morning about the depths of friendship and what it means to me. I know, when I am away from those I care for the most in my relationships, the conversation picks up right where it left off. I look forward to following your blog and wisdom.

    Take care,

    Ivon

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Ivan for dropping by and deciding to follow. I’m glad the post resonated with you and thank you for sharing. Really appreciate your interest and your blog. strength to you.

      Like

  11. russtowne says:

    Thank you fo the thought-provoking post!
    Russ

    Like

Leave a Reply

