Unity in Diversity

Bench 3-3

I love images that express a kind of oneness and unity and yet also an individuality. Oneness without individuality simply becomes a lifeless unrelateable mass, whereas, individuality without unity becomes a destructive fragmentation. The East has placed the emphasis on Oneness and Unity, while the West on Individual expression. When these two ways of seeing come together, they create a wonderful relational balance. I kind of see this in these two images I took – chairs and tables in a  coffee-shop and Remembrance Day wreaths at the Cenotaph. All form a unity, but also express themselves individually.

Bench 3-2

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Letting go of Ego, Photography, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Unity in Diversity

  1. Reblogged this on Professions for PEACE and commented:
    Don’s wonderful photography always amazes me but this post is especially powerful. The incredible images are wonderful accompaniments to his wise words about Unity in Diversity. This post speaks to me of World Peace. Thank you Don!

    Like

  2. Don says:

    Thanks Gina – so kind of you.

    Like

  3. Wow, that sea of poppies is just gorgeous. Very powerful shot. Well done!

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Good thoughts. Cheery chairs. 😀

    Like

  5. You’re right, when the balance between individuality and unity is found, it’s perfect!

    Like

    • Don says:

      I suppose we’re always a little on the edge tipping this way or that, but that’s what living is all about needing the creative tension. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  6. Hudson Howl says:

    You had me stumped for about thirty seconds or so with the difference between Eastern esthetics and Western esthetics then merging. I get it know.

    However, I think the Eastern way of seeing are slipping out view. Would it not be interesting if the West swings the other? I hope were not heading for one-side view of looking and seeing.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hudson, you make a good point. I think, and I may be wrong here, that because we are becoming far more aware of these different ways of seeing and experiencing, we are at last moving towards a more integrated and holistic way of seeing. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  7. ladyfi says:

    Oh, I love the way the two pictures look very similar – and yet different.

    Like

  8. Stunning post. The use of red in both pictures; the chairs and tables in the coffee shop should be busy with talking patrons, but all is silent. The Remembrance Day wreaths represent a fullness, a tribute to many who are silent.
    Well done.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I really appreciate your perceptions and the way you have discerned my intentions with the empty coffee shop, the silence of the wreaths and the colour red. Thank you for your perceptiveness.

      Like

Leave a Reply

