Weekly Insight (3)

flame lily 6.1-13

There’s a certain kind of tiredness that signals a necessary and freeing transition in us. It arises out of our need to perpetually push and shove our way through life, causing our path to be strewn with over-deliberate and forcibly chosen decisions, and thus, questionable outcomes.

Image 6.1-111

Life is more like a flowing river than catching the right bus. Discerning and feeling and working within the natural unfolding of life, is a liberating secret. I think this is something of what John Lennon meant when he said, “Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans.” It’s certainly what the Buddhists mean when they say, “When the apple is ripe, it falls of itself from the tree.”

I wish I had learnt this lesson earlier on in life.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beyond the Rational, Discernment, inspiration, Life, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Insight (3)

  1. darrelhoff says:

    Thanks Don, this makes a lot of sense to me, lately i am learning this lesson. sometimes i really feel i dont have it together, I don’t feel very saintly, i see and know my imperfections. I feel very much like the “imperfect christian” and yet in knowing that i feel a sense of freedom…if that makes sense?

    Like

  2. Life is like a river indeed. In 2012 I felt more like I was paddling upstream most of the way, but it built up quite a bit of ‘muscle’. The upside to that is that I am in good shape for 2013 ­čÖé

    Like

  3. Don says:

    That’s great news Jacquie. Admire your attitude to 2013.Nothing like going in to the new year with such positivity and “muscle.”

    Like

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    Ah but Don, to use your own words “I wish I had learnt this lesson earlier on in life”, how could you or any of us have, if ‘the apple is ripe, it falls of itself from the tree’.

    Understanding comes from constantly questioning the in’s and out’s. Even with John Lennon’s words, you could easily place a question mark at the end. I have been giving a lot of thought of late about this, an am beginning to wonder if my thinking is flawed. This post gives credence that it is, as this is more horizontal thinking. We tend to look or react from within and look upwards for answers. But the river of life is horizontal, there has to be something worthy for considering there as well. ………thanks for the shot in the arm (for making us think).

    Like

  5. Don says:

    Hudson, you always bring perspective. You’re so right. Thanks for reminding me of the absurdity of my own words in the context of what I was trying to say. I like your concepts of “horizontal” and “upwards.” My one son often speaks of putting more commas in your life. I love you adding the question mark as well. I suppose fullstops as well. Thanks for sharing – appreciate your words.

    Like

  6. wisejourney says:

    a few perfectly chosen words … especially like…the natural unfolding of life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

