The Friendliness of Our World and Universe

flame lily 6.1-191

The glass may be broken, but the wine remains.

Towards the end of his life Einstein said:  “Now I see that the only question is, ‘Is the universe friendly?’  “I have begun to discover its physical meanings, but the question that haunts me is,’Is it friendly?’ “

So much of what happens and much of what is taught sees it all as hostile and adversarial. Benevolence doesn’t often enter the picture. Even though I’ve struggled immensely with this issue, deep down somewhere within me, and I can’t explain it, I know that at the heart of the universe and this world is friendliness and goodness, and that it ultimately all works toward our good.

So, in the midst of all the hostility and enmity, I’ve decided to go in to the new year seeking a far deeper awareness and experience of this friendliness and benevolence. I’ve committed myself to knowing and believing that no matter how broken the glass may be, the friendliness and goodness of the wine will always be there to be sipped, relished and appreciated.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in inspiration, Life, Photography, Poetry, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Friendliness of Our World and Universe

  1. Cyndi says:

    That’s a wonderful commitment. I have faith you will find that friendliness and goodness.

    Like

  2. I like what you’ve chosen to seek for 2013!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  3. mominalatif says:

    That was such a nice read. Honestly, I’ve been avoiding reading blogs, waiting for the rush of the new year’s post to thin out and yours is the first one I read. I am glad I read yours, it’s a beautiful thought!

    Like

  4. hauntingly touching words and image.
    have a friendly 2013!

    Like

  5. Greg. says:

    Science has no answer to the “hard problem” of consciousness or mind.
    We are to a large degree free, notwithstanding our culture, race, upbringing etc’. etc’. Because of this every time we apply the power of love over the love of power the haunting beauty of the underlying friendliness of the universe is expressed through these loving choices that we are indeed free to make. The great sages knew this.
    Peace.

    Like

  6. Hudson Howl says:

    FPR Don, FPR -SALUT to you!……….Friend. Peace. Respect . Feels Pretty Remarkable.

    Like

  7. ladyfi says:

    An inspiring and beautiful commitment. I agree with you – although the media like to portray the world as a desperate place, it’s not the whole story. There is goodness there too!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you, Fiona. I agree with you. The Media is guilty of portraying a world that is desperate. Sadly, it’s so one-sided. Have a wonderful new year.

      Like

  8. Katy says:

    I really like your post Don. A friend of mine once remarked that black bags full of rubbish are a fact of life but it doesn,t mean we have to go rolling in the contents and I connect that with your post somehow. I always like what Dr. Phil Magraw says “Hows it working for you?” Personally I,ve yet to meet a happy pessimist. It might be naive but I like to be like Pollyanna and find something every day to be glad about.

    Like

  9. Lori Lipsky says:

    What a beautiful, well-written piece. I’m glad I found it.

    Like

  10. Oh how I love this post, this sentiment, of focussing on the sweetness and goodness of the ‘wine’ and deciding to not worry about the broken parts. I happily join with you in ‘seeking a far deeper awareness and experience of this friendliness and benevolence’ and know that sincere acts of kindness are indeed happening everywhere. There are many good people out there 🙂 Like you.
    Blessings, Gina

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Gina. Thanks for joining with me, and just to say your blog is a classic example of that kind of friendliness and goodness. Thank you and have a wonderful year.

      Like

  11. Terry says:

    thank you don, really lovely post. I know there is ugliness out there (the fate of the Taji dolphins a case in point), but I try focus on the lovelyness instead, this does not mean I bury my head in the sand does it? Being deeply aware but not letting it consume my every thought helps me deal with lifes ‘ugliness’.

    Like

    • Don says:

      You’re very wise Terry. Your kind of attitude is what we need more and more of. I agree with you, it’s not burying our heads in the sand, but just changing our focus. So good to hear from you again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

