A Dying Agapanthus

flame lily 6.1-211

I was once radiant and blue. Now I go the way of all things on the earth; but I carry with me the memory of my days in the sun. I will rise again, new, and blue and luminous, touched by the awakened memory of light.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Letting go of Ego, Life, Nature, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Poetry, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Dying Agapanthus

  1. This is such a coincidence..! My partner and I have been trying to remember the name of this plant/flower for a couple of weeks, and here it is… 😉
    This is such an incredible survivor; so strong. I love its colour (it also flowers in white, I believe)…!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Yes, I think it does flower in white, Carolyn. So glad the post jogged your memory. It’s a very strong plant and is indigenous to here – beautiful when it flowers. Thanks so much for your comment.

      Like

  2. Lovely words and thoughts with an equally elegant picture.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  3. Hudson Howl says:

    Don I think you have yourself a love song happen here. The toe started a tap’n and I couldn’t resist to play with your words. Needless to say this post is the kind of shtufffs that turns my crank.

    radiant in blue thy go
    byway of all things on the earth
    to rise again
    in the arms of a sunny day
    she the Goddess
    Theia lives
    She lives to smother me
    in shades of bleu lustre
    I couldn’t resist
    but feed my addiction
    radiant in blue

    Like

    • Don says:

      It’s the music in you Hudson. So glad it “turns your crank” – Lol. Just loved your words. I think I’m going to get you to write my posts.

      Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Lovely thoughts of the coming seasons. 😀

    Like

  5. darrelhoff says:

    i am loving the brevity of your blogs. sometimes words get in the way. and normally a picture is enough.

    thanks Don for carefully crafted and placed words. 🙂

    Like

  6. And therein lies the answer – rise again!

    Like

  7. Terry says:

    Love these plants too Don, not only the flowers but the leaves too have their use – when you walk in the berg and your feet get sore – pick a leaf or two and wrap them around your sore feet, put your socks and shoes back on the relief is instant.

    Like

  8. Katy says:

    “I carry with me my memory of my days in the sun” It makes me feel nostalgic somehow. Haven,t the Agapanthus been beautiful
    this year? Ours flowered early and stayed late. It must be all the rain Every cloud does have a silver lining!

    Like

    • Don says:

      I’m sure it’s a good memory Katy. The Agapanthus have been magnificent this year. Ours also looked marvellous. It must be, as you say, the rain.

      Like

  9. Beautiful. I love flowers in all their seasons and Agapanthus are particularly lovely though ours were not so good this year. I love, too, how you’ve used first person here.
    🙂

    Like

  10. Anett Whitehead says:

    In the throws of selling our home and scaling down – your blog has given me SO much food for thought, thanks. Not only regarding earthly possessions, but emotional STUFF. Want to make a fresh start.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Anett. Your words are deeply encouraging. Thank you for them. I celebrate your fresh start. May it open up all sorts of possibilities for you. Courage and strength to you.

      Like

  11. Pingback: Piano Tricks, Just So Science and Beyond the Agapanthus (Weekly Photo Challenge) « mybeautfulthings

Leave a Reply

