Life’s Departures

Brighton Station 2

I took the above image on Brighton Station. It just spoke to me of the many departures we make in life, departures from various phases and stages of our lives, departures from work we’ve done, from relationships we’ve been in, from patterns of thinking we’ve held on to, and of course that great departure we all have to make, the one from this world.

I found myself thinking about some of the departures I’ve made. My mind seemed to go to the “luggage” I took with me when I made them. With some I clearly discerned what I wanted to take, while with others, I know, I took a lot of unnecessary luggage that somehow just didn’t fit in the place I departed in to. In fact that unwanted luggage prevented me from experiencing the fullness of that new place and its challenges.

The whole reflection just made me realize how critical it is to be able to discern carefully what we take with us, and what we leave behind when standing on the threshold of a departure in life, whatever form it may take. They are such defining moments.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Discernment, inspiration, Life, Photography, Spirituality, Transformation, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Life’s Departures

  1. darrelhoff says:

    weirdly i look forward to more departures. things i need to let go. and i other places i want to see.
    don, your wisdom (like a wise guru) helps all of us who follow your blog. thank you.

    Like

  2. Healthy A-Z says:

    Brilliant! Departures can lead to adventures…experienced best with consciously chosen luggage.

    Like

  3. One of my professors once said, “When you come into my classroom or start any new venture, drop your baggage at the door and begin with an open mind.” This holds true in so many situations. Thanks for the reminder, Don.

    Like

  4. saymber says:

    Great topic and way of looking at things when it comes to internal luggage. I’ve carried some heavy bags myself from place to place but as I get older and feeling more like I’m home…the heaviest baggage I carry is in my behind region LOL. Better there than in my head.

    Like

  5. Mental luggage, clothing luggage – they all hold us back on our trips. I hope the next time I get to travel, I remember this advice.

    Like

  6. juditon says:

    Your reflection made me also thick about my own departure. The photography is nice and crisp. I love it

    Like

  7. Don, I really like the wisdom in the phrase: “unwanted luggage prevented me from experiencing the fullness of the new place…” This is so true in so many ways.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    Good thoughts, Don. We travel best when we travel light.

    You might like this quote by Lao Tzu:

    “A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.”

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    A lovely meditative post. Like the picture too as it brings back so many memories of my time in England. Sometimes, we only realize that we were departing when we look back…

    Like

    • Don says:

      The thought that at times when we look back we only then realize that we made a departure, is such a good one Fiona. Sometimes we depart unconsciously and only realize afterwards. Thanks for that insight..

      Like

  10. Heather says:

    Loved this reflection Don. I feel as if this lesson is sinking in more & more deeply, and I’m really looking forward to walking VERY lightly (physically & spiritually) when I walk ‘The Camino’ in April !

    Like

    • Don says:

      Good to know you found value in it Heather. Your news about walking “The Camino” is absolutely wonderful. A friend of ours has done it twice and he speaks so highly of the experience. Great to hear from you again. I bet you can’t wait for April.

      Like

  11. Lyn Viljoen says:

    A lovely reflection Don, thank you for your insights on life. I find them uplifting and thought provoking.

    Like

  12. Pingback: The Way Teaches Us The Way « Spirit Lights The Way

  13. Kathy Marsden says:

    So enjoyed the discussion, Don. Thanks for such a thought-provoking topic. It has helped me to be more aware of the choices I still have, and that it’s not all about the ‘big one’ I made to retire. I love to think of ‘arrivals’ and sense deeply a kind of homing inclination – must be the age, but at the same time what a wonderful freedom to live in the moment. I don’t have to bother too much about arriving – don’t have the timetable!
    Blessings! Kathy

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks for your insights Kathy. I suppose arrivals are a kind of temporary resting place where we take stock in order to move on. When not seen in this way we tend to get stuck in our perception of what arrivals are about. Suddenly they have a permanency about them and truth becomes dogmatic and stuck. We dig ourselves in to our arrivals and begin to believe that there’s nothing more – we have arrived! The fact is we never really ever arrive. I believe we can’t cling to our arrivals because there’s just no permanency there. There’s always something more beyond. Thanks again Kathy.

      Like

      • Kathy Marsden says:

        I don’t want to be stuck! You have given me something to think about. Part of me needs to arrive and other parts are exultant at the release and the relief of not knowing. Thank you for responding, Don, much appreciated!

        Like

      • Don says:

        Thanks Kathy. Nancy whose blog I follow has written such a good post on what we are talking about. Just below this comment you’ll see a comment headed Trackbacks/Pingbacks. Just click on the red link and it will take you to her post. Really worth reading.

        Like

      • nrhatch says:

        Thanks, Don! I appreciate the inspiration of this post . . . and the photo you chose to accompany your words. πŸ˜€

        Like

  14. We hired a car when we were in Brighton and from there we went to Cornwall, so thanks for sharing this lovely photo. Bianca gave me the website address of a guy who gives a packing list for those who wish to pack light! I followed it so that I could pack the absolute minimum for my three months in Jerusalem. I cheated on shoes – he says only one 1 pair (I took 3 pairs and I needed them). I only bought a scarf for myself over there and Kevin brought me my corduroy jeans (it got really cold there), Rooibos Tea and SA chocolates during mid-term! I am all for travelling light now! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks for sharing, Jenny. Cornwall, beautiful place. You must have had a wonderful time there. May you continue to travel light. I just need to say to you that I enjoyed your words on the yahoo group. Beautifully inclusive. Thank you.

      Like

  15. riaslens says:

    Really enjoyed this blog Don, thank you so much for sharing.
    it’s just what i needed to read in this stage of my life, as i too stand on a “departure platform” waiting for the next train in my journey to arrive and take me along for another new and exciting ride. xx

    Like

    • Don says:

      My pleasure. Thank you for your reading of it. May your departure lead you in to all sorts of new possibilities. Travel well and thank you for your comment, it’s much appreciated. Thank you also for following the blog. Hope you find the posts meaningful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

