From My Sketchbook – 1

I enjoy sketching. I’m really not good at it but it somehow draws me deeper in to the essence of things, and I delight in that.  So, I simply sketch the world around me as often as I can. Everything expresses so clearly what it is,  a chair its “chairness” a sunflower its “sunflowerness” and so on, and I find that fascinating. Thought I’d just share some images from my pocket  sketchbook.

IMG_1080.1241

IMG_1082.1310

IMG_1078.111

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Contemplation, From My Sketchbook, Life, Nature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 1

  1. Well it looks pretty damn good to me!

    Like

  2. dmgartphoto says:

    If those are examples of your sketches, you are good. You should see mine that I hide for public eye forever:-)

    Like

  3. Your sketches are wonderful, Don. They have an almost dream-like quality. The palm tree makes me feel like reaching out to touch it just to feel the texture. They are all smile-worthy. 🙂 Thanks for sharing them with us.

    Like

  4. Healthy A-Z says:

    Oh, I like these sketches. I’d definitely hang them on my wall. And the idea of being drawn deeper into the essence of the object of your attention is an idea I really appreciate. I’m intrigued. I may have to try this.

    Like

  5. tuttacronaca says:

    Hi! There’ s a Reality Blog Award waiting for you!
    http://tuttacronaca.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/realmente-grazie/
    Cheers!

    Like

  6. Your sketches are wonderful works of art! My children and I sketch together regularly.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

    • Don says:

      I’m sure both you and your children must have good times together. What a great idea. So good to have your children learn the art so early in their lives I wish I did. Thank you, Wendy.

      Like

  7. I’ve always wanted to be able to sketch something…anything…but not a chance…so good for you! They’re truly beautiful.

    Like

  8. Hudson Howl says:

    The chair looks familiar, perhaps not the same chair as your photograph but I think so, definitely evokes the same feeling, the gesture is there.

    “Everything expresses so clearly what it is” well said Don, an show reverence for subjects. Truly the essence of being. ‘Fini’, they are complete and unique onto themselves.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Yes, the chair was in a recent photograph, although when I sketched it, it was in a state of disrepair.Thanks Hudson for your appreciation – I appreciate it.

      Like

  9. nrhatch says:

    These are GORGEOUS! Thanks for sharing them, Don.

    Like

  10. ladyfi says:

    Not good at sketching? You’re being too modest!

    Like

  11. NICE!! I love when people open up their sketch books to give others a peak into their world. Beautiful! Love the dark ink contrasting the color splashes. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for your comment. I enjoyed sharing them even though it was with a certain degree of intrepedation. Thank you also for your encouraging words.

      Like

  12. Kathy Marsden says:

    WOW! So exciting isn’t it! I think your sketches are lovely and alive with meaning. Thank you for sharing them, Don. I have started drawing lessons and am amazed at what takes shape when I work with shadows. I just love it. I was really interested to read Richard Rohr’s comment in Breathing Under Water. Dealing with Step 2 of the 12 Steps in the AA programme, he speaks about the need to open inner spaces to be present to something and so allow it to change us. He mentions 3, mind, heart and body. He says the heart space is often opened by right brain activities such as….and he gives this long list and includes art. I smiled inside myself to think that my drawing was doing so much more than I realized. Our Creator never ceases to surprise, amaze and just fill me with pure delight!

    Like

    • Don says:

      It’s a beautiful book by Richard Rohr, Kathy. So true what he says. I admire you for taking up drawing and so glad you’re enjoying it the way you are. It’s such a creative act. Thank you for your comment and your sharing.

      Like

  13. darrelhoff says:

    you are a man of many talents, Don. Inspired!

    Like

  14. How lovely…! What a wonderful talent to possess. Thinking about what you’ve said, I would imagine that ‘sketching’ would be similar to meditation in that it asks you to ‘go within’…. Don’t mean to get too deep about it; just occurred to me that when I’m doing something I love (and concentrating) the world goes by and I’m in my own little sweet world…!

    Like

  15. “I’m not really good at it.” Is that what you said? I should be so “not really good” at sketching! LOL! 🙂

    Like

  16. Oh wow this is beautiful. I wish I had your talent.

    Like

  17. Greg. says:

    Remarkable! Now if you write the book I am hoping you will, you can do your own unique illustrations! Super biscuit is your new honorary title!

    Like

Leave a Reply

