From My Sketchbook – 3

IMG_1163.21

Namaqualand is an area in the Northern Cape in South Africa. Every Spring the landscape gives birth to one of the most  magnificent displays of flowers in the world. People come from far and wide to drink in this incredible sight. I sketched this little scene in the midst of all the beauty.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, From My Sketchbook, inspiration, Life, Nature, Spirituality, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 3

  1. I love this. You are very talented – just gorgeous

    Like

  2. Beautiful, Don. Your artistic interpretation of such an intriguing locale is lovely. I think this location will be added to my “must see” list.

    Like

  3. Wow! Such a creative person 🙂 Not only through the eye of the camera lense but with paper, ink, and paints as well. This is spectacular Don. A favourite subject of mine is trees, especially in winter when I can enjoy my (rather feeble) attempts to capture the beauty of their leafless form. Although I mostly fall short, I enjoy every moment of gazing at their form and shape. This work of art of yours really speaks to me. I look forward to more from your sketchbook, if ever you are so inclined 😉 With gratitude, Gina

    Like

    • Don says:

      I so appreciate what you say Gina. I agree with you, trees for me also speak deeply in to my life. I had a mother who instilled that in to me from an early age and a father who had a deep love for animals. Again thank you for your encouragement.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Ode to a Sketchbook: Excerpts | Jennifer Hartnett-Henderson

  5. Pingback: Jennifer Hartnett-Henderson

  6. Lesley says:

    This is beautiful – you’re wonderfully talented! It’s so nice to see this area of South Africa through your eyes.

    Like

  7. nrhatch says:

    That is just gorgeous, Don. It reminds me of the illustrations in Winnie the Pooh. 😀

    Like

  8. katy says:

    That is a “happy”sketch Its the kind of thing I would put on my wall and always get pleasure from.Namaqualand will now go on the “bucket”list.

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    So beautiful – almost Japanese in its Zen-like quality.

    Like

  10. Hudson Howl says:

    Brave of you to include the link to Namaqualand, as I followed it and almost lost my way back to here to comment. But now I get it, so am glad I went and experienced that land first. Your sketch isolates and defines exactly the sense of wonder you must have felt as you worked away. When words fall short to express grandeur and awe I just grunt…..so here it is GRUNT!

    Like

  11. Greg. says:

    Hey Don, what medium do you use? Pen and watercolours maybe? Do you complete the work in total on site? Cheers, Greg.

    Like

  12. wisejourney says:

    How very lovely. Thank you

    Like

  13. Beautiful. I saw your sketch and was immediately transported back to Africa. Thanks!

    Like

  14. munchow says:

    It’s a beautiful sketch. I love the combination of dynamic water colouring and the very stringent ink strokes. Those earthly colours with the dark sky looming over an almost Japanese looking landscape formation are stunning. Simply fantastic.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you. Appreciate your description. Those big dark skies are very much part of Africa. Thank you again for your words and appreciation of the the sketch.

      Like

  15. richardhaas8 says:

    You have a great eye for composition and an even greater hand with the brush.
    Thanks for sharing

    Like

  16. Pingback: 92: Some Details, Some Overviews. | Almofate's Likes

Leave a Reply

