The Windows of Perception

plus1-8689.11

I found these words in Anthony de Mello’s wonderful little book, “Awareness.”

“Everything becomes beautiful when you change. Or you look at the trees and the mountains through windows that are wet with rain from a storm, and everything looks blurred and shapeless. You want to go right out there and change those trees, change those mountains. Wait a minute, lets examine your window. When the storm ceases and the rain stops, and you look out the window, you say, ‘Well, how different everything looks.’

There’s no doubt we see people and things not as they are, but as we are. It’s our own windows that always need to be examined.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Photography, Relationships, Spirituality, Transformation, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Windows of Perception

  1. kimleach says:

    Reminded me of the story written by an Unknown Monk, in 1100 A.D:

    “When I was a young man, I wanted to change the world. I found it was difficult to change the world, so I tried to change my nation. When I found I couldn’t change the nation, I began to focus on my town. I couldn’t change the town and as an older man, I tried to change my family. Now, as an old man, I realize the only thing I can change is myself, and suddenly I realize that if long ago I had changed myself, I could have made an impact on my family. My family and I could have made an impact on our town. Their impact could have changed the nation and I could indeed have changed the world.”

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful thoughts Don – they are always inspirational!

    Like

  2. I like looking at the world with rose tinted glasses. I’d always prefer to see and concentrate on the good, rather than anything else.

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Feelings? I Thought they Were Yours. « Reiki Flow

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    It is true. A lesson I just learned in the post ‘Unfettered’. You got my attention with this one Don in a personal way.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Hudson, and again thank you for that video on Maude Lewis. One of the most beautiful things I’ve seen – I actually can’t get her out of my mind.

      Like

      • Hudson Howl says:

        God Dam Maude God Dam……..just think of her window on the world outside her little house. Her’s is a hard story to wrap around and do her justice. So am glad to hear she is stuck you as she as on me.

        Like

  5. Summer says:

    Hallo,

    This is for you, for being kind to others and me, http://www.bigcards.nl/card/pickup/bc-c7cf3c10/

    Sweet Valentine greetings, Summer

    Like

  6. ladyfi says:

    Just beautiful – the words and the shot. It’s always our own windows that need cleaning!

    Like

  7. Beautiful post. So true.

    Like

  8. Tim May says:

    I’ve got to get that book…thanks Don. This had me go blow the dust off “The Giving Tree” by Shel Silverstein and have yet another re-read of it….

    Like

    • Don says:

      Well worth reading Tim. You speak of “The Giving Tree” by Shel Siverstein – don’t know it. Can you tell me more?

      Like

      • Tim May says:

        “The Giving Tree” a great children’s story for all ages – written in the 60’s I believe. A poignant story of selfishness; a beautiful story of selflessness; and a story of unfettered love. Many say it’s everything about parenting. It might make you stop and become aware of your own window smudges. It should be at your local library…all of a 5 minute read, but a much, much longer time of contemplation. If read, let me know what you think.

        Like

      • Don says:

        Thanks Tim – sounds wonderful. I’ll certainly check it out.

        Like

  9. Pingback: The Windows of Perception/ Reblogged from Candid Impressions | Spiritual Mysticism

  10. shreejacob says:

    Hello! Dropped by from Nancy’s blog…love the quote. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

