How’s The Weather?

flame lily 6.1-30

Why is it that our little perfunctory greetings of one another inevitably lead to words descriptive of the weather? Is the weather simply an introductory conversational piece, or is there something else behind these seemingly unavoidable climactic remarks? Without running the risk of being overly serious and philosophical, I think there may just be.

Weather is probably the closest metaphor in trying to interpret and understand the inner states of our lives. We are tied to the weather in ways often mystical. I know it has that effect on me, and certainly whenever I visit England, I notice its profound effect on people there. Somehow, I think, the weather is in us and we’re in the weather. Is this not reason enough for our persistent allusions to it in the niceties of our greetings and conversation? I wonder?

 

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Beyond the Rational, Contemplation, imagination, Life, Nature, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to How’s The Weather?

  1. I have often wondered the same thing, Don. It almost feels awkward not talking about the weather. Here I thought it was a “Canadian” thing but I guess it is universal. Very interesting.
    -Melissa

    Like

    • Don says:

      I think you right Melissa, it does seem universal. I wonder if that is precisely why it tends to be archetypal. I like what you say about it feeling awkward – so true.

      Like

  2. bussokuseki says:

    I am sure there is…the interesting part for me is how the same weather can effect each of us so differently.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I’m sure that’s the case. Maybe it’s something in us that has a predisposition to particular kind of weather. Perhaps its also got something to do with the events of our personal history. Who knows? Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  3. Yes, weather is a universal topic and, as we say in Texas, if you don’t like our weather here, don’t worry. It’ll change in five minutes.
    Or here’s another one. The only people who try to predict the weather in Texas are fools and newcomers. Come to think of it, that’s the only types of people who live here.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Lol – I have to ask, Shiela, are Texans unpredictable people?

      Like

      • Don, I hate to tell you but we Texans are not only unpredictable but longwinded which makes our unpredictability go on and on. You can’t shut us up about the weather or any other topic. So there you have it first in Confessions of a Texas storyteller.

        Like

      • Don says:

        Well, Shiela, unpredictability creates very interesting people – you can’t pin them down giving an air of mystery about them. Flavour that with not being able to shut them up around any topic, and you’ve got mystery mixed with good conversationalists. Now that’s quite something. The longwindedness…well, at least it teaches patience.

        Like

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    I cannot remember the exact pronunciation and I won’t try to phonically spell it out cuz I would only muck it up, but in Cuba they have a Cuban made word which translates loosely to – how goes the battle (the struggle to survive) -no mention of weather. And yes, as LLBeGee said, in Canada that is definitely the case -Goooood day, Eh! that would be the generic greeting. Different Providences have their own unique greeting. Your right though, the weather is in us or were in it, either or the result is the same. Happy and content one monument and then a front sweeps in an were faced with the image Armageddon,……..Eh! have a good day, Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hudson, love the metaphor of the front suddenly sweeping in. Certainly feels that way at times. Not sure I’ll have such a good day though, rather grey here today.

      Like

  5. katy says:

    I too am affected by weather. Continuous dark dreary overcast days do have a depressing effect eventually. I am in daily contact by e mail with a friend in the north of England and a large part of our “conversation” is around weather,. It,s a connection between us, our lives are so different but we both experience “weather”,

    Like

    • Don says:

      Judging from today, Katy, you must be a little depressed at the moment. I’m sure tomorrow it’ll be bright again. I find what you say about you and your friend in the North of England quite fascinating – weather connects us. We all live under her umbrella.

      Like

  6. On that basis, I’m in good hands, living with the best weather on the planet.

    Like

  7. nrhatch says:

    I think people talk about the weather because it’s “safe” (unlike politics, religion, and even what we had for dinner) and because it’s a “shared experience.” It demonstrates commonality.

    Gorgeous shot!

    Like

  8. darrelhoff says:

    i once heard someone say this “If it wasnt for that changing of weather, 9 out of 10 people wouldnt know how to start a conversation.” there is truth in that too?!
    also, it would be awkward if we went for indepth conversation right away, such as: “what amazes you about this day?” but then again maybe we do need new conversation starters…

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    Talking about the weather is universal! Partly, I think, it’s a way of opening a conversation – and partly, yes, it does affect us.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Playing in the Rain | Rafferty's Rules

  11. Fascinating idea. A closer look at many commonplace things/topics yield deeper levels of meaning. It’s a matter of paying attention. Being a sailor, the weather takes on great significance for me. Issues of survival are also reflected in soul imagery like dreams and art.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I think you’re so right; there are deeper levels to so many commonplace things. I suppose one can become obsessive looking for deeper levels in everything, but whether we like it or not depth does enhance life and meaning. I’m sure your experience as a sailor takes you to understandings of the weather that we just could not grasp. Thank you for such a meaningful comment – appreciate it.

      Like

  12. A <<wonderfully" mysterious and delightful photo Don. And a great post. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

