From My Sketchbook – 6

flame lily 6.1-33

This is a water colour and brown ink I did of the Namibian landscape. We had the wonderful opportunity to live in Namibia for some years – a beautiful country to the West of South Africa with its coastline on the Atlantic Ocean. It’s a Land of contrast with just about every kind or shape of landscape available. Of course it’s home to the Etosha National Park one of Southern Africa’s best loved wildlife sanctuaries. A truly magnificent place. We lived close to this enormous sanctuary and had the privilege of visiting it often. My most memorable moment in the Etosha was driving slowly, for nearly three kilometers, through a herd of Zebra. Something I’ll never forget.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, From My Sketchbook, Life, Nature, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 6

  1. Dear Don, So beautiful. Blessings, Ellen

    Like

  2. Don, I enjoyed your narrative. I felt I was traveling along with you.
    Three kilometers of Zebra. Of course it would have been a touch more than three because you were moving, albeit slowly. It is hard to imagine that many; It must have been wonderful…

    Like

  3. And to think, you shared the Atlantic with us in South Carolina when you lived in Namibia!! Lovely drawing…and the colors with the brown ink really wonderful.

    Like

  4. Great sketch and artists really do love Namibia. It seems to come up with colours found nowhere else.

    Like

    • Don says:

      That’s so true, especially the mountains and hills. They have a lot of quartz in them and sunlight in all its phases creates the most magnificent purples, pinks and reds. It’s quite awe-inspiring. The landscape colour is quite something to see.

      Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Zebras are a great favorite of mine . . . I would have enjoyed that drive. 😀

    Like

  6. Don says:

    Thanks Nancy. They are magnificent animals. I love the sound they make.

    Like

  7. Very inspiring, Don. having recently been to Namibia, this painting really resonated for me 🙂

    Like

  8. ladyfi says:

    Oh, I’d love to visit Namibia – have heard so many good things about the scenery. This is a lovely sketch.

    Like

  9. dmgartphoto says:

    If someone asked me to point out Namibia on the map yesterday I wouldn’t have had a clue other than somewhere in Africa. Thanks to your post I got curious and now I know 🙂 I believe its a common European thing to think of Africa as a continent rather as different countries. Maybe because we from early age are fed with the false image of the not always so “great” european discoverers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

