In Love With My Boots

Untitled 1

Have you ever become so attached to a piece of clothing that you ‘ve found it terribly difficult to get rid of? I was like that with a pair of shorts I had. These shorts had a real history. They were bought as part of a soccer kit and spent many practicing and game hours on a soccer field. I then used them for running in and then sleeping in. Eventually they ended up as a pair of gardening shorts.

You can imagine what they looked like – not a pretty sight, but I had grown so attached to them I couldn’t get rid of them, much to my wife J’s  frustration. Eventually I reluctantly and ritually placed them in a rubbish bag and they were never seen again. I’ve never forgotten those shorts.

Now I’m afraid I have the same problem with my boots. Some readers have asked me about my Gravatar being a pair of boots. Well, Vincent Van Gogh painted those boots. Strong evidence exists that the boots were his. If his relationship to them is anything like mine to my boots, I can certainly understand him painting them in the way he did. Got any clothing you’re overly attached to?

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Life, Photography, Relationships, Spirituality, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to In Love With My Boots

  1. Healthy A-Z says:

    Love…even for clothes or boots…defies explanation. It just is. I still miss a few of my all-time favorites. Sigh.

    Like

  2. Oh, I have a pair of hiking boots from when I was about 11 years old, that I still refuse to get rid of. Love them to bits and they hold such wonderful memories.

    Like

    • Don says:

      That’s marvellous. Isn’t it wonderful how certain things of ours are just so charged with memories? You ever tried putting them on again? Lol.

      Like

  3. Hudson Howl says:

    Ha, I can so relate to this and by the way your problem is a problem we all should have as it speaks the value of being mindful.

    Though for me it is my Scully caps; I’ve worn them since I was two which my mother is to blame for my life long trend or obsession. But I have been wearing them ever since, in every stage of life. Though I have given up on becoming attached to any given one. So when one is last seen floating in a ocean as the vessel sails on or falling out of sight as a result of peering over the edge of rock cliff, I simply say ‘so long’ and put another one one my head.

    That all said, I still have a pair of hiking boots which are thirty years old. I can look at those boots and see in the stains and scuff marks the memories of things I have done or places I have been. Though they must be feeling sad for the last few years a pair light weight hiking sandals have caught my fancy.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hudson, the next time i see a scully cap lying around somewhere, I’ll know it’s yours. I’ll check the sea tomorrow when I walk. I hope those hiking boots of yours aren’t too upset about those hiking sandals. Have you sat down with the boots and explained the position? Have you allowed them to express their pain and concern? Lol

      Like

  4. My son is a climber. When he was 17 (he’s now 29) I stole a pair of Verve climbing pants from him. They are so darned comfortable – I wear them when I sit down for a long day of writing.

    Like

  5. I wouldn’t part with my facsimile Suffragette scarf which my Mum bought for me some 30 years ago. It is silk, purple, white and green and carries the words Vote for Women on it. I have worn it whenever I have needed extra strength, for speaking at conferences and to funerals and often just for fun. It is my very special piece of clothing that I will have until I die! 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      It must be a very special piece of clothing to you. I can imagine the strength and inspiration it must give you. Am I right in saying that Emily Davison was wearing such a scarf when she threw herself in front of the King’s horse at the Epson Derby, or is that just mythic?

      Like

      • You may well be right. Lots of the women did wera them. My Great Granny was a Suffragette who was imprisoned in Holloway for her actions (we don’t know, sadly what it was she did)
        We have the Hollloway brooch (given to all of those who were force fed) in the family but it went, rightly, through the female line so my cousin has it and she has two daughters so it isn’t ever going to come my way! 🙂

        Like

      • Don says:

        Just been reading about it. Apparently she was wearing the scarf with those colours. Your Granny must have been quite a person. Something wonderful about being connected to a person like that, and what a story behind that brooch.

        Like

  6. If you are interested I could point you to my other blog where I wrote up the real diary of an unknown suffragette from papers I found in my Dad’s things. 🙂

    Like

  7. Oh sure, Don, lots and lots… Well, maybe a few..!
    I have a few things that never quite reach the ‘give to St Vincents bag’ every time I have a clean out; they invariably find their way back into the robe.. ha ha…

    I love shoes, Don, and love your gravatar; it smacks of good old fashioned wholesomeness and love… The more I think about it the more I see how precious lovely memories are, and are probably the reason behind those things that don’t make it into the ‘give away bag’…! 😉

    Like

    • Don says:

      You know, Carolyn, you’re right – it is the memories around these things that somehow give them their value. They are so intimately woven in to our lives and the stuff of our lives. I really like your observation of the Gravatar. Hell, I’m glad I chose it. Thank you.

      Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    There are a few clothing items that refuse to part with me.

    I put them in the donate box . . . and the next thing I know they are hanging back in my closet. 😉

    Like

  9. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    I love your boots too! They’re great ol’ boots 🙂

    Like

  10. bussokuseki says:

    I have a pile of t-shirts on the floor of my closet. They come from different times in my life and are all so threadbare that I can wear each only once a year or so. Yet I can’t let them go…

    Like

  11. ladyfi says:

    Ah yes, I’m attached to earrings and my boots that have taken me on so many fabulous walks.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Can’t identify with the earrings, Fiona – Lol – but certainly with the boots. I hope those boots are water proof with the kind of conditions I’ve seen in your photographs.

      Like

  12. Pingback: Piece of Pop: Little Boots – Broken Record | I Tend to Babble... Music & Reviews

  13. Don, my husband’s old work boots are sitting in my potting shed waiting to be planted up with hen and chicks. I rescued them from ending up in the garbage. Ian and I both tend to keep clothing items, that are cozy, until they are threadbare. My oldest item of clothing is a dress I wore as a toddler.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

    • Don says:

      “Boots waiting to be planted with hen and chicks.” I’ve just got to remember this when the time comes for me to retire my boots. Wonderful Wendy. That toddler’s dress sounds quite incredible. I wonder how much you remember wearing it?

      Like

  14. darrelhoff says:

    i have some pairs of shoes that were with me when i was overseas and I always think about the different grounds they have walked upon 🙂 from snow in Poland to the cobbled streets of Italy.

    Like

  15. Hello, just found your reply by accident. I don’t seem to be getting all reply notifications.

    Dad was writing a novel concerning the Suffragettes and met a young woman with an amazing collection of memorabilia including the diary. She allowed him to photocopy it but we know no more than that.

    It is quite fascinating isn’t it? I’m really glad you and your wife are finding it interesting. 🙂

    Like

  16. Yes, I have an old robe that I love which is missing buttons and been washed hundreds of times, but it is the robe I wear when I need an extra hug in the mornings or evenings. So I understand. 🙂

    Like

  17. renxkyoko says:

    A big shirt with a Betty Boop design, a hand me down from my sister.

    Like

Leave a Reply

