A Butterfly and a Blooming Queen Palm

We put out bananas for the butterflies. This is our latest visitor.

flame lily 6.1-37

Took this shot of my neighbour’s  palm tree in bloom. Not sure whether you call them blooms, but I was fascinated by their beauty.

IMG_1209.1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Contemplation, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to A Butterfly and a Blooming Queen Palm

  1. How beautiful, had not seen a Queen Palm before.

    Like

  2. Like a golden waterfall. Stunning. I’ve never seen that before. I truly had no idea that palms bloomed

    Like

  3. Beautiful! That is definitely the palm’s inflorescence (flower), Don. Quite a show-stopper. I love that you put out fruit to feed the butterflies too. Have you ever watched a butterfly unroll their proboscis to feed? It is truly unforgettable. Wonderful photos that make me dream of warmer days ahead.

    Like

    • Don says:

      So that’s what you call it Melissa, “inflorescence.” You’ve taught me something. Going to look it up. Thank you. No I’ve never seen them unroll the proboscis. I must watch out for that. Must be quite a sight. Would love to see it. Take heart, those days are on their way Melissa.

      Like

  4. josna says:

    Don, how beautiful this shower of blossoms is! I looked it up, and it is indeed a cluster of flowers–an “inflorescence.” Did you take this on Palm Sunday? I never thought of the palm fronds in bloom.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Josna, you and Melissa have taught me something. So glad I know now what to call it. I had a feeling there must be some word or other for it. No, I took the shot yesterday. Just thinking about it, it certainly has significance for Easter. Thanks Josna.

      Like

  5. Kathy Marsden says:

    So beautiful, Don. That butterfly really favoured you and was still long enough for your pic. There are wonderful, tall stately palms in the complex where I live and I’m fortunate to see them on two sides of my cottage. When the palms are in flower it’s like sunshine and my mood always lifts. BUT, the maintenance crew were very busy cutting down stems/branches the other day, all heavy with unripe fruit! I was sad that the cycle would not be complete. Lovely Easter symbols in your photographs. Every blessing at this special time. Kathy

    Like

    • Don says:

      She was so busy lapping up the sweetness of the banana she wasn ‘t even aware of me. She sat there for a long long time. I can understand your sadness. Why do we always have to interfere with nature in the way we do? Funny I was reading a post by Melissa on her blog where she speaks of this
      interference. Such a good post. Here’s the link if you’re interested. http://livelovebegreen.wordpress.com/2013/03/25/jumping-the-gun/

      Thanks so much for your comment Kathy.

      Like

      • Kathy Marsden says:

        Thanks for the link, Don. Enjoyed reading Melissa’s blog. I’ve posted a comment

        Like

      • Don says:

        Glad you enjoyed it, Kathy.

        Like

      • Thank you Don for sharing my link and to you as well Kathy for checking out my blog. I agree, obviously, that it is always disappointing when we interrupt the flow of nature for our own need for our surroundings to be aesthetically “tidy”. I struggle with this occasionally as a professional gardener (my area of expertise). There is the desire to have everything pleasing to the eye while at the same time I know that Nature is being disrupted. It is a very fine balance.

        Like

  6. I didn’t know that butterflies liked bananas! When the sunshine arrives I will remember.

    The palms in Falmouth flower regularly and smell lovely but they are not as glorious as your golden fan of flowers. Beautiful! 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      We found that out recently. My wife J visited the Butterfly farm and they were doing it there. She tried it here and this was our first visitor. Looking forward to others visiting. I can imagine the aroma of those palms. Must be marvellous.

      Like

      • We are certainly going to try that. Bananas are naturally sweet and more so as they ripen. Should they be very ripe to attract butterflies? 🙂

        Like

      • Don says:

        They say they need to be ripe. We’ve noticed at the butterfly farm that they take bananas and slit them down the middle and lay them out. Then they cut oranges in half and lay them out around the bananas. They also put a little vase of bright flowers in the midst of all this, obviously to attract. We’ve just used bananas.

        Like

  7. How beautiful they both are!

    Like

  8. Don, the butterfly and the blooms are both so beautiful! Nice captures. I tried so hard last summer to get butterfly pictures – but they are flowers that fly away when I’m near…

    Easter Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

    • Don says:

      Wendy, I just loved your description of them being like flowers that fly away. They do tend to be like that. This one was absolutely still. She was so busy sucking up the sweetness that she was completely oblivious of me while I was taking the shot.

      Like

  9. nrhatch says:

    Great shots. Our palms do the same . . . we call them seed pods but they do look a bit like blooms. 😀

    Like

  10. ladyfi says:

    Wow wow and more wow!

    Like

  11. What a wonderful thing to do with bananas; I’ll keep that in mind for next Spring…!

    The image of your neighbours marvelous palm tree reminds me – I planted a Tibouchina last Spring (it is currently showing its first bloom of Autumn flowers), and am hoping in years to come (as it grows above the fence line) our neighbours will enjoy it as much as we will…!

    Like

    • Don says:

      I celebrate your Tibouchina. Such a wonderful and colourful shrub. We have them here and when they bloom our village is absolutely covered in colour. May yours bloom and bloom and bring you much joy.

      Like

  12. SingleFocus says:

    Stunning Butterfly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

