Some Things Don’t Change

freeimage-3229754-web

Yesterday as I walked past a little cafe I caught the aroma of french fries, or as we call them here in South Africa, chips. Nothing smells like frying chips.  I stopped and savoured the smell. I couldn’t help but think that in this fast and changing world with our constant need to adapt and learn, some things just don’t change. The smell of frying chips is the same today as it was in the sixties, the seventies, the eighties and right in to the twenty first century.

Who knows  what life and the world may look like in a hundred years from now, but I bet you this, the aroma of frying chips will still be the same.  I don’t know about you, but I take a strange sense of comfort from that. Not sure why, but I do.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Food, imagination, Life, Photography, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Some Things Don’t Change

  1. katy says:

    Did you and Jane ever pass a fish and chippy on a cold and frosty night on your U.K. trip. Irrisistable smell, isn,t it? Almost as good is frying bacon wafting over the campsite, or freshly baked bread hot from the oven. Thanks for taking me down memory lane, yet again.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Oh yes we have, Katy – absolutely wonderful. Walking down Edgeware street in the early evening is a treat when it comes to aromas, and reigning supreme are the chips.

      Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    It is a comforting thought . . .

    Like

  3. I am comforted by this, also. It is a cross-cultural comfort.

    Like

  4. Ese' s Voice says:

    There’re many things that…no matter where in the world we are, always bring back memories and make us feel a bit like at home. And familiar aromas are definitely among them. 🙂

    Like

  5. ” Cross cultural comfort” I really like that -from Capetown to California to Cornwall and beyond – we all recognise this so evocative smell. Thank you, Don! 🙂

    Like

  6. Hudson Howl says:

    I hear ya. Though I tend to be more of a bun man. Bread like fries seem to have eternal life. Catch a whiff of fresh baked bread and am butter. Food for thought, I’ll buy into that.

    Like

  7. Agree with Hudson about the freshly baked bread and to combine both thoughts – did you ever have a chip sandwich? When we were kids, my mom made the best chips in the world and there was nothing yummier that plonking them onto a couple of slices of fresh out the oven government loaf. Oh my goodness, I think it is more about the happy memories than anything else …

    Like

    • Don says:

      Jacquie I remember chip sandwiches. They were absolutely marvellous, especially as you say, when the bread was freshly baked. Thanks for helping the memory by bringing bread and chips together. I’d forgotten about that – the chip sandwich that is.

      Like

  8. ladyfi says:

    So true – smell makes such a strong memory, doesn’t it? Comforting to know that some things stay the same… at least, in our memories and noses!

    Like

  9. I too loved Jacquie’s comment. I can remember a young girl friend who often bought chips (yes, we call them chips here in Oz, too; though the advent of McDonalds (and the like) are changing the culinary landscape. The word ‘chips’ is slowly receding.. more the pity; it has a wonderful ‘ring’ to it; with some marvelous memories attached.))
    I digressed, Don….! 😉
    It was this same young friend who introduced me to ‘chip sandwiches’… yum…
    I haven’t had one for some time, though I feel the urge coming on… 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Glad Jacquie’s words awoke that memory, Carolyn. I also like the words “chips.” So sad we might be losing it. I for one will try and keep it. As you say, it does have such a ring to it.

      Like

  10. Summer says:

    Haha, nice post : )

    Love and Peace, Summer

    Like

  11. I never would’vd thought of that, but I think you’re absolutely right! LOL! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

