Images on a Walk

Image 6.1-72

First signs of Autumn

flame lily 6.1-51

Sunlight on reeds

Image 6.1-61

A Thorn tree

Image 6.1-4

Walking on colour

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Images on a Walk

  1. Hudson Howl says:

    See I knew you had colour in your walk, an the juicy shtufff at that. There is no denying people in South Africa must be the experts on when and where is the best sunlight -as you have lived with all your lives in spades.

    No matter the hemisphere, there is just something about that women named Autumn. As warped as this sounds, it is the thorn trees that I liked seeing. Though, ours are nowhere as menacing as those in Africa the’ve always caught my interest from little Hudson to present. I guess I can relate to their ‘oddity’ in nature.

    Sunlight on reeds in the wind -has always made me think of a string orchestra warming up to play a song never written.

    Like

    • Don says:

      We do live with it, buckets full all year around, Hudson. I envy the seasons you guys have. We are going in to Autumn now and you hardly notice it. Love your description in the last line of your comment.

      Interesting thing about those thorns. The Giraffes love those little succulent leaves between the thorns. They have mastered the art of curling their long tongues around those little leaves without pricking themselves on the thorns. Quite something to see.

      Like

  2. As wonderful as Autumn is, I am loving the coming of Spring. Your pictures are beautiful, Don. You have lovely sights to enjoy on your walk.

    Like

  3. I planted a couple of Chinese Tallow trees last Spring, Don. A few of their leaves are beginning to ‘turn’, and I’m like a new mother watching her children grow-up… It’s fascinating to watch nature. Your images are proof positive… 😉

    Like

    • Don says:

      It is fascinating to watch nature. You’re so right Carolyn. When you say “turn” just help me to understand that.

      Like

      • The leaves are ‘turning’ from green to a deep red (their Autumn shade of colour, before they fall completely). The Chinese Tallow is a deciduous plant; it will allow the Winter sun to reach my windows, and its returning leaves in Spring will shelter the windows once again. Oh, how I love nature, Don. 🙂

        Like

      • Don says:

        Sounds wonderful, Carolyn. Enjoy.

        Like

  4. ladyfi says:

    Wow – so beautiful. That first one in particular speaks of autumn…

    Like

  5. shweta says:

    Beautiful pictures Don. My favourite is 4th one with a perfect caption to it:)

    Like

  6. Yes, I have to agree with the others..the first sign of autumn…lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

