A Womb With A View

freeimage-6858883-web (1)I was reading the other day how a child round about three years old relives the trauma of its birth. Apparently the child regresses and tries to go back to being a baby, and cannot. It’s a necessary developmental thing. It’s only by reliving his or her birth that a child is able to let it go and continue to grow in to the painful and glorious process of becoming a person.

Isn’t it strange how the pressure to grow is inherent in us, yet we fight it tooth and nail? Cyril Connolly puts it beautifully: “We’re all looking for a womb with a view” – a place where we are safe and secure. But lets face it, wombs change in to tombs; that’s the gracious pattern of life, always conceiving and nurturing us, but then prompting us out in to the vastness  and adventure of itself.

Any wombs change in to tombs for you lately?

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in inspiration, Life, Spirituality, Transformation, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Womb With A View

  1. Theo Coggin says:

    Interesting food for thought Don!

    Like

  2. theINFP says:

    I’ve never heard this theory before, it’s an interesting idea, I can relate to the concept of womb to a tomb it in terms of thinking that there wasn’t a better place to work. How wrong could I have been.

    Like

    • Lyn Stephenson says:

      “We are all looking for a womb with a view”…how true. Much easier to observe the game from the safety of the side lines, but far less interesting or rewarding.

      The real moments of growth in my own life have all been like a re-birth, stressful and often painful. Wombs to tombs? It happens all the time for me, I don’t think it’s possible to experience one without the other.

      Like

    • Don says:

      Strange how initially places of fulfillment and growth can eventually become confined and limiting. But that’s precisely what keeps us growing. Thanks for the comment..

      Like

  3. josna says:

    Yes, Don, there’s that stage small children seem go through (though I didn’t think it was about revisiting the trauma of birth) when, instead of trying to prove that they can do everything by themselves, they regress to babyhood and want to be cuddled and taken care of. If I recall (and it’s in the distant mists of memory) I humored my son, since it was a stage that soon passed and I thought that he needed to know that his mother would always be there.
    But now to the difficult question you posed to us: whether there have been any “wombs that have turned into tombs” in our lives lately. I think I’m in one of those places now, where I’m “hiding out” in a safe (because it’s known) place, hesitating to make a decisive move. I’ve moved in with my parents because I don’t want them to go into assisted living or a dementia ward, which is fine in itself, but the rest of my life is on hold, and I haven’t been moving quickly enough to find a live-in caregiver so that I can go back to my own complex and messy life. I’m trying to do what I did as a parent, be compassionate to myself and at the same time encourage myself to take action.
    Your pieces are always thought-provoking. Thank you.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Josna for sharing your experience. It’s difficult to imagine the struggle you must have. i take my hat off to you and really admire you for what you’re doing. So glad you find the pieces thought-provoking. That’s precisely what makes them worth doing. May all go well with you and your parents.

      Like

      • josna says:

        Thank you, Don. Not sure how admirable I am, but I’m trying to keep my head above water and more-or-less deal with things as they come up, if not before! Love the combination of non-preachy reflection, love of nature, and essential humanity in your blog. Not to mention your love of chips! Cheers, J

        Like

      • Don says:

        You’re too kind Josna. It’s precisely what I find in your blog. Thank you.

        Like

  4. ladyfi says:

    Really thought-provoking. And a fab picture too!

    Like

  5. katy says:

    Surrounded as we are with young grandchildren, we do find they like nothing more than an occasional return to “the womb”. especially when they are unwell. There is nothing more comforting than a cuddle and a soft blanky. But when health returns the urge is strong to shake off the restrictions of the sick room an d be up and out. It,s almost like the seasons – a time to be still and a time to spring up and get on with the business of going and growing. Womb to tomb – so well put.!

    Like

  6. Shweta says:

    Interesting thought Don… That’s why I like coming to you blog again & again…Like the way you provoke a thought in reader’s mind and then continue giving your inputs.Thank You.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Motherhood Is Where I Both Lost And AM Finding God. | Spiritual Lives Of Women

Leave a Reply

