From My Sketchbook – 9

Today I had a ball with some mixed media – pencil, coloured pencils, charcoal,  and ink.

IMG_1449.8

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, boats, From My Sketchbook, inspiration, Life, Poetic Imagination and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 9

  1. The serenity of this piece pulls you right in.

    Like

  2. Hudson Howl says:

    Going to have to start calling you Toulouse-LaDon.. ‘Fun’ you brains out if this is the result my friend.

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    This might be my favorite . . . so far.

    Like

  4. Shweta says:

    Beautiful

    Like

  5. Kathy Marsden says:

    I love the simplicity and the unlaboured style, Don. It’s beautiful. Mixed media is very rewarding and inking just does something. I’m still using pencil but am learning the art of a very sharp point of a B6 to give me the really deep shadow, often just a spot or a bit of a line. Makes it come alive. I had fun on YouTube recently with drawing lessons. There’s plenty available for other media, and I learn so much by watching the artist.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I love what you say about a spot and a line, Kathy – so true.Like you I really enjoy some of the stuff on You Tube as well, and certainly learn a lot from the presenting artists. Thanks for your comment and enjoy your drawing.

      Like

  6. tomsimard says:

    I love the colors and mood.

    Like

  7. Awesome. Truly. Thank you for sharing with us.

    Like

  8. Love this one, especially the way you have created the reflections in the water. 🙂

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    This is a really gorgeous painting!

    Like

  10. doronart says:

    It is great I love this sketch keep it on.

    Like

  11. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    Oh I like this very much…
    if one listens they could hear the gentle lapping sound of the waters against the boats…
    You have a wonderful gift…
    Take Care…
    )0(
    ladyblue

    Like

  12. katy says:

    I can smell the fish and hear the seagulls. I wish I could draw like that Don, , even my stick figures look like a dogs dinner. Keep posting – I love your pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

