Walking Through Life

Men and Women walking_cropped

I love to walk. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t enjoy walking. Sometimes I want to do a Forrest Gump ( I know he ran) and just walk and walk and walk, and then simply stop and say, “I’m going home.” Sadly, I lack that kind of courage, or perhaps my life is just too damn predictable.

Why do I walk? Well, I walk because it’s good exercise; I walk to think, to meditate, to see the world around me and to gain perspective on life; but most of all I walk because it’s the most natural form of human movement known to humankind – something archetypal and primal about it.

For me there’s nothing like striding out on the road, arms swinging, and I don’t mean those deformed kind of bent elbow jerks, but a vigorous and natural swing creating a sense of rhythm that makes you feel you’re in tune with a pulse and a flowing far greater than yourself.

So, apart from all the physical advantages, in my heart of hearts I believe that in some mysterious way the ancient and natural movement of walking keeps the inner life supple, fluid and flexible. So happy walking to those who enjoy it.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, inspiration, Life, physical exercise, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Walking Through Life

  1. Healthy A-Z says:

    My perspective often changes as I walk past the things I normally see from my car window. I also love how my body feels from moving rhythmically. I love walking…and yoga.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I feel what you describe as well – that feeling of your body moving rhythmically. It’s a good feeling. Glad you’re a walking fan as well.

      Like

  2. We love walking and I love that feeling of striding out. Mostly, now, if we walk on the South West coastal path, it’s tricky underfoot and one loses the sense of rhythm – but the compensation of the views and the fresh sea air are worth it. Happy walking to you πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. darrelhoff says:

    I totally loved this. My picture i have of you and J are you two walking along the beach. πŸ™‚

    please please read this book….or at least the write up. Such a beautiful story:

    http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13227454-the-unlikely-pilgrimage-of-harold-fry

    about a guy who just walks and walks…

    Like

  4. Although walking is our basic form of transportation we often tend to take it for granted in our busy, over-scheduled lives. I agree that walking is more than just exercise but is a great platform for thinking and connecting with life around us. Phenomenal post, Don. Walk, Don. Walk.

    Like

  5. Elke says:

    If I could write,these are the exact words that I would have used. I walk every day and feel happy and enriched when I am home again. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!
    Elke

    Like

  6. nrhatch says:

    I love walking with no purpose but to walk . . . and see and feel and breathe and be in the flow.

    Great post, Don.

    Like

  7. Shweta says:

    Nice post Don. I can feel what you have described about walking(swinging hands,moving one’s body in a rhythm :)) ‘coz I do love walking in ‘Lodhi Garden’ nearby. Alas!Haven’t been doing that much these days because of the killing hot weather here:(

    Like

  8. wisejourney says:

    i so agree and i find it can be such a creative space…I really must do more of it.

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    I agree with you. Walking is good for the body AND the soul. Whenever I’m in a bad mood, a walk cheers me up no end.

    Like

  10. katy says:

    You said it all Don!. For me too walking is physical health and mental health. I,m convinced good circulation has massive health benefits both for the mind and body and the bonus is, its so enjoyable especially living as you and I do in such a beautiful area.”My boots are made for walking” and I hope I can carry on until one day I take my final walk into the sunset !!!!

    Like

    • Don says:

      “Your final walk in to the sunset.” I really like that Katy – what a way to go!.Lol. I agree with you, β€œMy boots are also made for walking.” Thanks Katy – enjoy the week-end.

      Like

  11. I agree, Don, there is something precious in the primitive act of just walking.. it is non-taxable too.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  12. Heather says:

    How about the Camino Don? Just back from an absolutely wonderful 800km experience.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Congratulations Heather. What a wonderful accomplishment and you’ve certainly walked through life. Welcome back with, I’m sure, unforgettable memories.Wonderful! We celebrate with you.

      Like

  13. Another wonderful post Don! With a newly blind dog, our walks have taken on a deeper, richer perspective for me as I see how much she enjoys walking and running through the grass, stopping to sniff at her favorite posts, and as I ‘see’ through her world I notice how soft the grass is and how lush this early summer smells. Thanks for sharing your wise perspective, from a fellow-walker! πŸ™‚ Gina

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Gina. What a wonderful experience to walk with a blind dog. I’ve heard that dogs cope with blindness in the most remarkable way because of their incredible sense of smell. What a joy to be able to “see” her world. Admire your bond with this dog. I think it’s wonderful.

      Like

  14. AP says:

    Thank you for this gift of a post. I love walking. In Australia we call it bushwalking, and it’s by far my favourite activity apart from writing. In fact they go hand in hand, I get many of my ideas and realisations when walking. Keep your candid impressions coming. A:)ex

    Like

    • Don says:

      I identify with you when you say it’s where you get your ideas and realisations. That’s precisely what happens to me as well. Thank you for your comment

      Like

Leave a Reply

