From My Sketchbook 10

Two South African landscapes I did in water colour.

flame lily 6.1-571

The South African landscape is vast and spacious. It’s like there’s room for everything and everyone. The sad thing for me is that this vastness and spaciousness doesn’t always enter the spirits of those of us who live in this land. Even after the demise of apartheid we are fraught with division, racism (white with black and black with white), tribalism and xenophobia.

IMG_1471.1

If only the landscape in which we all live could filter in to the very depths of our being, we would become far more open and accommodating with one another and with nature herself.

Then a charcoal and pencil landscape.

IMG_1480.1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, From My Sketchbook, inspiration, Life, Nature, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to From My Sketchbook 10

  1. Mary says:

    All three paintings are wonderful. Your first painting is just fabulous – great water scene and color choice! Your second painting is such a lovely atmosphere.

    Like

  2. As always, your posts are thought-provoking and well written. The art is fabulous. What a marvelous land and how much you must love it! Thanks so much…

    Like

    • Don says:

      I do love it Shiela, but I must also confess that there are a lot of things that happen in it that I don’t particularly love. Appreciate your affirmation – thank you.

      Like

  3. Kathy Marsden says:

    Blown away by the vibrancy of the first sketch, Don. It has texture – the paper, I think. Beautiful. You really are enjoying this creativity! Yes, I wish we could absorb the wideness and openess. There seems to be such a struggle for air here. We are a very diverse nation and I guess as colourful as that is, it can easily shift to intolerance. So, we must open ourselves and try to live in gratitude and appreciation and hope. Your sketches capture the generous spirit !

    Like

    • Don says:

      It is the paper Kathy. You’re so right, diverse, colourful yet so complex and difficult. Sometimes I despair as to whether we could ever find unity in our diversity – is it just a pipe dream – then I get down to trying to live it again. Very difficult, but then that’s an essential part of life. Thanks for your comment Kathy.

      Like

      • josna says:

        “Keep on keepin’ on,” as my father would say to us. Figuring out how to live together is probably THE great human challenge of our time. South Africa certainly has challenges, but you can also help to show us all the way.
        Lovely sketches. I too like the texture in the first one; for me it is the second that conveys the vast openness of the landscape. Here’s to open hearts and minds! Your blog is an inspiration.

        Like

      • Don says:

        You’re so right, Josna, this difficulty lies at the heart of our living together. Love what you’re father says. To open hearts and minds.

        Like

  4. BEAUTIFUL! Love all 3!

    Like

  5. Simon says:

    beautiful words and beautiful art.

    Like

  6. Shweta says:

    Beautiful & thought provoking as always..although, geographically, I am located differently on globe but i too agree that the spirit of ‘openness & accommodating one another’ can bring a diverse nation together. Sometimes I too feel that ‘unity in diversity’ is not yet completely there( it’s missing in my land as well)….but then! Come to think of it.It is with this understanding,that we can bring the change slowly….

    Like

    • Don says:

      I agree with you Shweta, but as I said to Kathy it is immensely difficult. I know that your country is also so diverse. May we never stop wrestling with this issue. Thank you so much for your comment.

      Like

  7. love your work and your thoughts! beautiful
    I’ll keep them in my mind,
    😉

    Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    Beautiful, especially enjoyed our sky washes in the first two. 😀

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    So true – such a shame after everything Mandela has fought for. Hoping the South African landscape rings with unity!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Fiona. As you well know, it was the spirit of Mandela that held it all together throughout the transition and throughout his term of presidentship. I’m afraid without sounding pessimistic there is very little of that spirit in those who are ruling now, and these sentiments are also coming from black perspectives, not just white.

      Like

  10. Hudson Howl says:

    Not much to say about these Don, you’ve presented your works of passion and their connections to that which you feel strongly about. I soak it up.

    Like

  11. You’re on the mark every time! A thoughtful and thought provoking post! Love the sketches too and how you’ve used them together with the writing to emphasise your observation 🙂

    Like

  12. Gorgeous, simply gorgeous. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

