Going in to your Day

images (33)Nothing sets the tone of the day more than how you wake up or are woken up in the morning. For me it has to be quiet, unhurried and intrusive free. Sounds rather selfish and indulgent and I’m even tarnished by a little guilt at times because of this need, but I’m lucky I have that luxury.

Coming slowly out of the mists of sleep, I listen at length to the expanding sound of the birds chirping, and then, having pampered myself with this sound, I gently swing my legs out of bed and go through all the rituals of making coffee, letting the dog out, getting dressed, doing the necessary ablutions and finally walking out in to the sun to face the day.

I’m of the opinion that how you rise in the morning does have much to do with how you go in to your day. Perhaps that’s why Katherine Mansfield in her short story, “Mr. Reginald Peacock’s Day” says of one of her characters, “If there is one thing he hated more than another it was the way she had of waking him in the morning…It was her way of establishing her grievance for the day.”

So if you really want to upset someone, mess with their rising in the morning. You can’t do better than that.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in inspiration, Life, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Going in to your Day

  1. There is nothing selfish about rising at your own pace. Starting the day on the right side of the bed, so to speak, is essential for having a positive frame of mind. I am just the opposite; I pretty much leap out of bed each morning! Perhaps it is the anticipation of the first cup of coffee that makes me so perky!
    Wonderful post, Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Melissa. I can’t see someone like you rising in any other way – lol. Yes, that first cup of coffee really gets one going. Thanks for the bright comment.

      Like

  2. Healthy A-Z says:

    I always like to awaken before everyone else in the house. That’s my “me” time…and I often don’t feel all is right with the world if it’s interrupted too early. So, I understand this completely.

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    I like to ease into the day as well. Wake up, get up, wash up, and down some coffee.

    Aah . . . that’s better!

    Like

  4. Kathy Marsden says:

    What an apt picture to express your feelings about the day that doesn’t begin as you would like it to! Do you know the little guy?

    Like

  5. Recognizing long ago that alarm clocks are tortuous instruments, I ditched mine. I like how you’ve described entering your days. I don’t drink coffee but I can appreciate the anticipatory affect. In lieu, I have two well behaved Labs who will gently nudge me when they deem it’s time to listen to the birds and watch the smoldering sun creep over the mountains crest. Thanks for an enjoyable read.

    Like

  6. Wouldn’t trade it for anything. 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Eric. Sorry about the delay in responding to your comment, but as I said to others we have had all sorts of problems with our communications here and we haven’t had internet for nearly a week. So, again, sorry about that.

      Like

  7. darrelhoff says:

    Thank you Don. I agree that morning space is so needed. i too prefer a quiet start…

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Darrel. As I said to Hudson – sorry about the delay in responding to your comment, but Telkom has been terrible and we have just had no lines.

      Like

  8. Hudson Howl says:

    ‘Screw with someone’s morning rising’, that’s just cruel, albeit true. Many a rooster has met their maker and ended their day in the soup crock for such a crime.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Great stuff Hudson. I’m so sorry I’ve taken so long to respond, but we have had serious problems with our lines and cables and hopefully our connections have now been restored this morning.

      Like

  9. lolarugula says:

    My husband knows it’s best not to speak to me for at least 15 minutes after waking. I’ve always envied people who wake up smiling and ready to take on the world. I just mostly want to have my coffee before I hurt someone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

