Break in Communication

So sorry about my lost contact with you all, but we have had major problems with our lines and cables. Large blocks of our residential area have been without internet and communication for nearly a week now. Hopefully, I say hopefully, because one never knows here, it has been restored properly.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Break in Communication

  1. Hi Don, Hope all works well . . . Blessings, Ellen

    Like

  2. I so know the feeling! I’ve been missing from action for ages now. Hope it’s all sorted out properly your side.

    Like

  3. Nothing wears more on the nerves than computer problems. Hope it’s resolved soon.

    Like

  4. josna says:

    We come to take 24/7 Internet access for granted, don’t we, and feel cut off from the world when we are without it–I certainly do. And yet–you know better than I do here, living in Africa–large swaths of the world are without Internet and must communicate with each other and the larger world using other means–which we all did, too, less than 20 years ago. I hardly feel I could function without high-speed internet, but I had dial-up for years and years before spring for the considerable additional cost.
    Here are a couple of interesting websites with statistics on internet around the world:
    http://www.internetworldstats.com/stats.htm
    http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/IT.NET.USER.P2
    Don’t mean to be at all preachy–I feel your frustration and am just musing out loud. So much business is now carried on over the Internet that that too would come to a standstill without it. Hope yours is reliably restored soon.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Josna. The links make fascinating reading. We’re lucky in the big centres. We’re able to get fast internet, which we have done at quite a cost, but it’s worth it. The problem is we have one key service provider which has a monopoly and that’s just not healthy. When you get bad service you have to simply put up with it. We need a lot more competition to really spruce it all up.

      Like

  5. sefeniak says:

    We are so lost without our computers and our lines of communications these days! Good luck! 🙂

    Like

  6. nrhatch says:

    Intermittent outages are taxing. I could learn to live without the internet. I could. But I want notice so I can switch back to paper bills and telephone calls. 🙂

    Glad you’re back.

    Like

  7. Shweta says:

    Hope it works well soon Don..till then chill and enjoy and when it is restored share with us all that you enjoyed during your healthy break:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

