“You Are My Every Breath”

J and I were travelling in the car this morning. Suddenly a love song came over the radio with a repetitive little phrase, “You are my every breath, You are my every breath. “Β  So I thought I’d be a little romantic. I gently leant over and softly sang to her, “You are my every breath, you are my every breath”.

She gave me a quizzical look and responded, Β “You really should get some other oxygen as well, you know.” Bang went my romantic moment.

And I thought women were romantics!

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Life, Men and Women, Poetry, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to “You Are My Every Breath”

  1. darrelhoff says:

    haha. J always the realistic πŸ˜‰ hehe

    Like

  2. Maybe next time be a little more original πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      The song was rather cheesy. It was a bit of tongue in cheek. I’ll certainly try and be a little more original. Thanks for your comment and visit.

      Like

  3. Hudson Howl says:

    How do you know she wasn’t being romantic? -more of statement then a question really.

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Hahaha! I think you’ve described a VERY romantic moment.

    If being romantic is being “intimate” with each other . . . not being afraid to say what we feel when we feel it. Then you both did just that. πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. ladyfi says:

    Mowhahaha! Nice repartee.

    Like

  6. The too oft disconnect. Definitely points for trying. Perhaps try it through another loving filter. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Maybe next time try it, holding a bunch of flowers πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Healthy A-Z says:

    Ahhh, I love your romantic moment. Maybe she did, too, but didn’t know how to accept the unexpected moment except with a little humor.

    Like

  9. OK, I must admit that I actually laughed out loud at J’s response. Simply fabulous! Romance doesn’t always present itself like the movies would lead us to believe. Shared laughter can be just as romantic (and sexy) as a cliche candlelit dinner. Although, I would highly recommend skipping the cheesy song whispers.

    Like

  10. Annerie Witting says:

    hehehe that is J! Love her and her sense of humour! Can see it in my mind!

    Like

  11. Ese' s Voice says:

    πŸ™‚ I would just add – and that’s one of the reasons why you love her. Because she’s exactly that way.
    A wonderful and endearing moment…one of many.

    Like

  12. renxkyoko says:

    Sometimes , the hairs in our arms will stand on end, he he he… and we’ll say eeewww ! LOL

    Like

  13. Thanks for the laugh! I must admit, your Beloved’s come-back was indeed clever. Thanks for sharing, as this journey of life-long partner-hood is certainly ripe for writing fodder. πŸ˜‰
    Cheers, Gina

    Like

  14. Corlia says:

    I can just hear her! So typical ~ but I also know that there is something MUCH deeper between you 2 guys than just romance. You are a perfect example of a couple who enjoy, respect and compliment one another. But I would like to send my other better half to you for some pointers … LOL!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Corlia you’re too kind. Thank you for your words. Really appreciate them. Be careful, your better half may just get some pointers you won’t like – Lol.

      Like

  15. Since you loved her response and laughed, it was a romantic moment and shows how you love really each other. πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. lolarugula says:

    This brought a smile to my face! πŸ™‚

    Like

  17. cindy knoke says:

    Yikes!! Your blog is awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

