From My Sketchbook 14

IMG_1548.2

A water colour of a Winter landscape in the Northern Cape. Once again I tried to capture the vastness, but also the dryness and the heat of the landscape.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, From My Sketchbook, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to From My Sketchbook 14

  1. Hudson Howl says:

    The bigger bush on the right, is that Bob Dylan?

    You done did it, Don. If only I knew what such a wild landscape sounded like. There is a surreality to this, which speaks to my sensibilities. Intriguing as it is, it is perplexing – being one who’s entire life experience of winter is that with snow and ice. Hard not to see this as beautifully bazaar -which is a good thing.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Hudson. It is rather paradoxical, but that’s Africa. I can imagine its perplexity for you. Sometimes it’s like that for me as well. You ask about its sound – only silence, deep silence with intermittent whispers of the wind. The bigger bush? It could quite easily be.

      Like

  2. Dear Don, Beautiful art . . .

    Like

  3. Beautiful. Simply beautiful.

    Like

  4. Don, your work is so true. I love it very much!! Makes me feel I’ve been there…

    Like

  5. Kathy Marsden says:

    I really look forward to seeing your sketches, Don. Thank you again for sharing. This one is beautiful. I’m glad Hudson asked about the sounds. I exprienced the sketch in a different way thinking about that. Longed to be there. I’m off to the Berg on the 12th for a week. Winter in the Drakensberg has the silences you speak of and the bare trees, and the leaf fall, and the air at times heavy with grass burning. I’ve never seen snow fall. Always hopeful when I’m there in mid winter!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Kathy. Have a wonderful time in the Berg. Hope you see snow fall and experience those magnificent moments of silence and grandeur. Nothing like the Berg. Hope you see eagles as well.

      Like

  6. Shweta says:

    Beautiful one 🙂

    Like

  7. In my humble opinion I would say that you most definitely captured the vastness, as well as the heat and dryness. It reminds me of north-eastern Alberta with canyons and cactus and dinosaur remains. Also, your skies are always so well done, which is something I deeply admire. Skies filled with clouds always capture my attention and make me long for the skill to put it to paper. You have that skill my friend. Thank you for sharing. Your images always send me, and it is a wonderful trip!
    With gratitude, Gina

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Gina for such an encouraging comment. Would love to see North-Eastern Alberta, Sounds wonderful. Really appreciate all you’ve said. Thank you again

      Like

  8. This is not unlike what I see from my perch atop a hill in the High (and very dry) Desert of New Mexico. Nicely captured. I know too well the heat among those landscapes.

    Like

  9. sefeniak says:

    It does indeed show as vast and dry well done

    Like

  10. All that and you managed to give it character – like its trying to tell us a story. It really is beautiful.

    Like

  11. nrhatch says:

    You know your way around that paintbrush . . . that looks like a vast scape of dry, dusty, heat.

    Like

  12. ladyfi says:

    Dry and yet lovely in all its ruggedness.

    Like

  13. Just an absolutely gorgeous watercolour. The trees are so sensitively done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

