Our Faces Speak

man-103041_640Walking out of the supermarket today I noticed an old man sitting and waiting for his wife to check out their groceries. His face was wizened, lined, a bit tired looking, yet so alive, especially his eyes. I got to thinking of the human face, this tiny round surface where the intensity of presence gathers and expresses itself like in no other place or surface.

We can hide our personal stories from one another, but what we can’t hide is the extent to which those stories are quietly and persistently written in to our faces. If you want to see something of a person’s soul then look in to his or her face.

I’m convinced there is such a thing as a spirituality of the human face, and the more we grow in our capacity to discern it, the more we’re able to enter in to the mystery, the pain and the beauty of each other’s stories. To gaze in to peoples’ faces is to gaze in to their lives.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Contemplation, Identity, Relationships, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Our Faces Speak

  1. Incredible post, Don. The human face tells many stories.

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    This is a fabulous post – so well written and its meaning not lost. I rarely do this, but with your permission I would like to reblog your post so others may read your beautiful words.

    Like

  3. Very beautiful and true, Don. Further to your observations, I believe the manner in which one carries them self, the way they gesture and how they speak – in word, inflection and projection – also illustrates a life story. Physiologically, we’re an amalgam of life tell tales.

    Like

  4. Annerie Witting says:

    Well said Don! My sentiments exactly! Lots of love xx

    Like

  5. Beautiful thoughts. I love how great novelists are able to describe a human face in such detail as Dostoevsky did for example.

    Like

  6. Wonderful post, Don, and so true.

    Like

  7. Mary says:

    Reblogged this on Oil Pastels by Mary and commented:
    Not a usual practice of mine, but Don of Candidpresence wrote one of the most beautiful posts I’ve read and asked if I could reblog. He writes about the human face and what it can reveal if you study it long enough. With Don’s permission I’ve reblog – I hope you take a moment read this wonderful post!

    Like

  8. really nice post, that’s why I like people in their pure natural look, without any painting on their face 😉

    Like

  9. nrhatch says:

    Some faces are carved with character. Thanks, Don.

    Like

  10. valentina says:

    May I reblog it as well? It’s a wonderful post!

    Like

  11. valentina says:

    Reblogged this on misplaced smiles and commented:
    Short, precise and very well written. Thank you, Don! 😀

    Like

  12. Healthy A-Z says:

    I love what you have written here. Our faces, especially the eyes, almost always show in great detail our emotional state and mind set. The question is…who is looking? Not many tune in to “see” others.

    Like

    • Don says:

      So true.To be able to tune in and actually see is a wonderful gift and I feel that everyone has the capacity to do that. It’s an essential part of our.humanity Thank you for that.

      Like

  13. Jane Lurie says:

    You’ve captured a special moment in time. Beautiful portrait-thank you.

    Like

  14. Beautifully written and goes straight to the heart. Sadly enough few people take the time to really look at each other to find out…what’s inside and what this person has gone through. Being in love you can stare in infatuation – but in such a situation you are not seeing the truth. You don’t want the truth in that moment.

    Thank you.

    Like

  15. ladyfi says:

    Beautifully written! And so true.

    Like

  16. Kathy Marsden says:

    I’ve come in at the tail end! Rewarding reading. Just wanted to say that it was suggested to me that I should draw my own face – another step in observing, so important in sketching. Haven’t had the courage to attempt this exercise….yet! Wonder where it will take me and what I’ll discover? Most of all will I like what I produce and accept what I see? I guess I won’t know unless I try Thank you, Don, for sharing.

    Like

  17. Chukwunonye says:

    Thoughtful and interesting observation. Thank you.

    Like

  18. You are right, it’s not just the eyes that are the windows to the soul – it’s the whole history of the life that is written in a face. The photo reminds me of my Dad in his last years, a life well lived written all over his face. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

