The Wonders Of A Roof

A second statue in St Pancras Railway Station in London. The poet and writer John Betjeman looks up at the wonders of the roof of the station. I’m sure there’s a poem being conceived in that head.

flame lily 6.1-3111

flame lily 6.1-41

When I looked at his shoes and turn-ups a sudden feeling of deep compassion came over me. Not sure why.

IMG_0327.1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Life, Photography, Poetry, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Wonders Of A Roof

  1. Lorem Ipsum says:

    Your comment about “turn-ups”, Don, made me think of the TS Eliot line:
    “I grow old . . . I grow old . . .
    I shall wear the bottoms of my trousers rolled.”

    A lone which has also always held a lot of pathos for me. Intriguing…

    Like

    • Don says:

      I love the line. Lorem, (I’m going to call you Lorem), thinking about this line, it certainly helps in my understanding of where the feeling comes from. I think it has something to do with age and the neglect that often centres around ageing. Definitely something there. Strange how one can feel a sudden feeling and not know where it comes from or what causes it. Again thanks for the pointer. Need to think a little more about it..

      Like

  2. Healthy A-Z says:

    And there lies a connection to his humanity.

    Like

  3. josna says:

    Reminiscent of your old boots, Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I think so Josna. But you know, as I’ve been thinking about this, especially after having read the above comments, my mind has gone back to a moment I had in the Holocaust Museum in Washington DC, where I stood at a small wall and saw an immense carpet of shoes belonging to victims from one of the Nazi death camps. I’ll never forget that moment. It was deeply moving and terribly disturbing.

      Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    I like that statue . . .

    It reminds me of the cover of Mr. Popper’s Penguins. Without the Penguins.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mr._Popper's_Penguins

    Like

  5. I was really hoping you would feature this sculpture too. Bet jean is one of my favourite poets – I especially love his sequence about Cornwall. I love his slight scruffiness and the complete lack of pomposity. The sculpture does indeed show his humanity.
    I love the Poppers’ Penguins story. Thank you nrhatch for the link.
    On another track – your comment about the shoes in the museum reminded me of all the combs, similarly collected that we saw in a war museum in Cahors many years ago, but an image of horror that never quite leaves one.

    Like

  6. The details you captured are stunning. Now I will do some research and follow up. Very interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

