Readiness

peaches-8985Last week I took a book off my shelf and began reading it. Virtually every page spoke to me. Insightful and challenging, it was difficult to put it down. The funny thing was the book had been on my shelf for some years. When I first read it I found it to be rather boring and simply put it back. Something had happened to me between reads. It seemed I was now ready to receive what the book offered.

I suspect much in life has to do with growing in to readiness. Have you ever noticed how when we’re not ready for some kind of change or reception of something, we can do what we like and it simply won’t happen. Come the moment of readiness and it all seems to fall in to place, it just naturally happens.

I think discerning readiness is one of life’s great arts. It lubricates and dissolves much frustration and impatience. No wonder Shakespeare in King Lear said, “Ripeness is all.”

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Discernment, inspiration, Life, Spirituality, Transformation, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Readiness

  1. Dean says:

    This always happens to me with books. When I first pick them up I can never get into them, but then months or years later I pick it up and yell ‘WHY HAVEN’T I READ THIS YET?!?’

    Like

  2. I love all these subtle truths that you bring up, Don.

    Like

  3. Lori Lipsky says:

    Yes, I’ve found that, too. Often with a good book, or a friendship, or a meal…timing is everything.

    Like

    • Don says:

      So good to hear how you relate to the post as well. Thank you for your comment. Come to think of it, you’re right, it can happen with a meal too.

      Like

  4. This is so true, Don. You have to be receptive, and that only happens after everything beforehand has opened you to receive whatever it is you need to see. Another great post – which is what we have come to expect from you, Don :-).

    Like

  5. Greg says:

    “Do Monserrat and Kerouac the dust attract? Do Gibran’s prose lie closed and shelved, their lines no better company than mockery? Their words weightless, their figures faceless?”
    This from a poem I wrote years ago when realising I had not touched my bookcase in ages. I am now revisiting the complete works of Kahlil Gibran, a collection I purchased in 1971. At the ripe old age of 22! Oh the joy! I am swept away! Yippee!

    Like

    • Don says:

      What an experience it must be Greg! I just celebrate that with you. 1971, now that’s 42 years ago. Enjoy being swept away. Marvellous the way Gibran does that to you.

      Like

  6. Healthy A-Z says:

    So much wisdom you share with us, Don. Love how you do that!

    Like

  7. Profound insight, oh wise one. This is wonderful. I have had similar experiences but only within the past few years. As I ferment, so do others words and counsel. Odd as it seems to some, I am grateful to be aging – especially in the space of being open and allowing.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Not so sure about the wise bit, Eric. Your description of fermentation is a beautiful one. I think much of this fermenting goes on unconsciously in our personal histories and then suddenly expresses itself consciously in the form of deeper readiness, perception and openness. I’m one with you in what you say about ageing, provided it follows this path of openness. Sadly, it can so easily follow the opposite one which I think is deeply tragic. Thank you for your comment.

      Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    Fantastic example of changing reality, Don. Since it’s unlikely that the book changed while sitting quietly on its shelf, I’m left to conclude that you changed. Change is good.

    Like

  9. Timing is everything. That’s an old saying we hear a lot. The older I get, the more i agree.

    Like

    • Lyn Stephenson says:

      I like the quote by Shakespeare ‘Ripeness is all.’ Neil Douglas Klotz also speaks about the ‘right time’ being the ‘ripe time’ or the fullness of time.

      I think there is much truth in your observations. I have found there is a kind of synchronicity in the right moments or ripe moments, a point of clarity where things connect and fall into place. I agree, discernment is the key.

      Like

      • Don says:

        I think Lyn that the word synchronicity is a word that describes it all so well.

        “…a point of clarity where things connect and fall into place.” I love this sentence of yours. Thank you for your comment.

        Like

      • Don says:

        I agree Sheila – that’s what it’s all about. Thank you.

        Like

  10. Jeanette says:

    Thank you for your insightful blog, Don.

    Like

  11. Shweta says:

    Thank you for sharing this wisdom Don. This is why I like reading your posts!

    Like

  12. ladyfi says:

    Another piece of lovely wisdom from you. So true!

    Like

  13. I’ve had the same thing happen and have wondered why. I suppose, with more experience and more life under the belt, one becomes more receptive. Love the way your posts give me pause for thought. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

