Nature’s Textures

I never cease to be amazed and moved by the textures and colours of nature. No doubt she is the ultimate artist. I took these in the Durban Botanical Gardens.

DBG 6.1-15

DBG 6.1-14

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nature’s Textures

  1. nrhatch says:

    Those are FANTASTIC! I love palm fronds of all shapes, sizes, and textures.

    Like

  2. Hudson Howl says:

    There is art here. The top one, more so than the bottom appeals to my Naïve sensibility. Cannot help but think of Henri Rousseau’s paintings. Van Gogh’s ‘Shoes’ would certainly be a tap’n, Don. Nature is the habit where so much art lives and thrives. If nature is shrunk, will art diminish?

    Like

    • Don says:

      I too prefer the top oner. Not sure about the “shrunk” bit when it comes to nature, Hudson, but I think an immense part of art would be lost. You raise great questions. Is art bigger than nature? Is nature bigger than art? Can there be art without nature? Got some thinking to do. Thank you.

      Like

      • Hudson Howl says:

        Don, I meant Habitat but typed habit. Expression needs a habitat to flourish. For me, the natural world is a perfect place to colour outside the lines. Oh well just the ramblings of a conforming non-conformist wannabee.

        Like

      • Don says:

        I really like conforming nonconformist wannabees.

        Like

  3. Shweta says:

    These are beautiful captures. My favourite is the first one.Rightly said! Nature is ‘The’ expert artist giving variety of colours to just one form and then leaving it on us to take it in/ perceive.And surprisingly we all do it differently 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      True Shweta. As I said to Hudson, I also prefer the top one. You’re right, nature does inspire and nurture our different perceptions of her. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

