Coming Home

122617519.1The August wind has arrived and the sea is alive with prancing white horses. Yellow Billed Kites and Swallows are once again gracing our skies. With the advent of Spring I have a strong sense of things coming home. I read this beautiful and apt description written by the Irish writer and poet John O’ Donohue:

“There is an old shed near my home. Each April , after their long journey from Africa, the swallows return to the same nests in its rafters. They refurbish the nests and soon new little swallows will hatch out there. It is fascinating that the destination of such a huge continental journey is the fragile little grass and mud homes in the roof of an old and abandoned shed. It suggests that one can undertake any voyage if the destination is home. Humble or grand, home is where your heart belongs.”

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Life, Nature, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Coming Home

  1. josna says:

    They have two destinations, don’t they depending on the season?! So not only is home fragile and mutable, but there isn’t just one of them. Thank you for this. It pleases me to think that your warm weather is on its way as our days and nights are cooling.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Josna – good thought, there isn’t just one of them. Yes we’re looking forward to Spring, but the tropical heat of the last months of the year and the early months of the new year can be quite overwhelming even when you are used to it. Our Winters are warm and the sharp distinction between the seasons here are not experienced the way you experience them. I miss that at times, but it has its advantages.

      Like

  2. Michael says:

    Yes, in line with Josna’s comment, this was a really interesting post to read here in the Northern Hemisphere where things are just beginning to tip in the opposite direction. Really is kind of interesting to think about: what happens to birds when their world is turned upside down!? If climate were not an issue, would a bird whose lineage was from one hemisphere adjust quite easily to life in the other?

    Like

    • Don says:

      Interesting question Michael. I suppose we’ll slowly begin to find out how they’ll behave because I don’t think the climate issue is going away. I also find it interesting to hear people in the Northern Hemisphere speak of the changing seasons with ours being directly opposite. Thank you for your comment.

      Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    I am always amazed at the distances birds traverse during migration.

    Like

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    I get on a bus, train or plane and still the feeling is, it takes me nowhere. I go for a hike where if I yell no one would here me and feel like have arrived home at last. I found much inspiration in this Don, thank you ever so much for just being you and sharing that.

    Like

  5. ladyfi says:

    That’s a lovely poem – and a great feeling.

    Like

  6. darrelhoff says:

    I feel nomadic often. and not sure where my home is anymore…

    Like

Leave a Reply

